can't access 'wii settings'. why???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tran123abc, Oct 10, 2009.

Oct 10, 2009
  1. tran123abc
    OP

    Newcomer tran123abc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Why can't i open my "wii settings" (so that i can check the version of my wii)
    When I try opening wii settings the following is displayed:

    "You tried to access the address marc:EU/EU/ENG/index01.html which is currently unavailabe please make sure that the web address is correctly spelled...Need help? Open the Opera Help, Go to Opera's online support desk"

    What am i supposed to do? any suggestions?
     
  2. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,484
    Country:
    United States
    its a Region Brick,

    Use Any Region Changer to check your console area settings make sure they are correct for your region, Then you could use Safe Firmware 4.2 updater to fix it, If you dont want to update to 4.2 you could find another Firmware updater but i'm unsure which is the safest to use

    edit: But dont use ARC to update its update feature is outdated
     
  3. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    this happens if you have your system menu running under ios249. check preloader or any other patches you have and change it back to what it should be.
     
  4. ricako

    Newcomer ricako Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    from experience having sysmenu running under 249 doesnt produce his error and will just hang on a black screen after pressing settings. Does sound like a region problem
     
  5. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, semi brick. ARC should fix the problem.
     
  6. tran123abc
    OP

    Newcomer tran123abc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    New Zealand
    but is there any DISADVANTAGES besides not being able to check my Wii version?
    -would this limit any games i can play or anything else?
     
  7. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude its easyto fix just do it...

    Yes it will stop you from changing you internet connection settings and wii connect 24 etc...
     
  8. tran123abc
    OP

    Newcomer tran123abc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    New Zealand
    lol im a real noob when it comes to this sort of thing...even when i read the guides on how to do stuff i still get stuck/confussed...
    installing Homebrew seems like way complicated for me.

    i guess since i dont go online with my wii this semi-brick thing shouldnt affect me, just as long as i can still play games with my modded wii

    thx for replying ppl:)
     

Share This Page