Cannot Upgrade!

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by LukePounds, Jan 21, 2011.

Jan 21, 2011

Cannot Upgrade! by LukePounds at 6:43 AM (1,105 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I have used the search and read the guide but I cannot get this to work. I used the original Acekard firmware and it worked fine for the longest time and now I want to use Akaio. So I format my Sandisk SDHC 8 gb and drag and drop Akaio 1.81 onto the SDHC. I drop the __aio folder and the .nds file. I load it and get system file missing. I have tried the same process 3 times. I have tried version 1.71 and they all have been downloaded from the posts off this website. I honestly don't know what else to try. I'm on a Mac if that helps at all. Also using a DS Lite.
     
  2. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    On a Mac, eh? Are you formatting the msd through the Disk Utility app?... and if so, are you formatting to FAT (not a Mac format?) ...Just a thought.
     
  3. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah Im using the disk utility app. It formats to MS-DOS (FAT)

    The other option is MAC OS Extended. I also just tried version 1.85a with no luck.
     
  4. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried using the ak firmware again? ... a different DS lite? It sounds like a contact issue with your acekard.
     
  5. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Ak firmware does not work so idk what the issue is. I don't have another DS I can try right now. If anyone can help me I would appreciate it a lot!
     
  6. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    come on no one ccan help?
     
  7. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If you're getting the system file not found error, try installing 1.8.5a over top of 1.8.5 and see if that works. There's not much point in using 1.8.1 now.
     
  8. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it didn't make a difference at all. It was working fine and now it's not suddenly. Doesn't make any since nothing's different.
     
  9. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Here is a detailed step by step process of what I am doing.


    1. Here are my supplies a DS Lite, Sandisk 8 gb and my USB Reader.

    http://img535.imageshack.us/i/photoon20110121at22452.jpg/

    2. I insert the Sandisk 8gb card into my reader. Then I insert my reader into my Laptop.

    http://img194.imageshack.us/i/photoon20110121at2246.jpg/

    3. I open up my disk utility on my computer and I click the erase tab while highlighting my SD card.

    http://img6.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at104.png/

    4. Why yes I would like to erase it!

    http://img193.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at104.png/

    5. This is my SD card erased and ready to go!

    http://img695.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at105.png/

    6. This is the AKAIO 1.85 I downloaded I highlighted the files I'm dragging to the SD card.

    http://img163.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at105.png/

    7. These are the files on my SD card after the transfer.

    http://img11.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at105.png/

    8. This is me transferring the files from 1.85a to my SD card.

    http://img195.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at105.png/

    9. I would like to replace all these files!

    http://img37.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at105.png/

    10. Transfer completed. Ejecting SD card.

    http://img412.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20110121at105.png/

    ...and System file is missing. All files were downloaded from threads from GBAtemp. Am I doing something wrong or what?
     
  10. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Let me run this same process on my Hackintosh to confirm that its not the Disk Utility's fault, which i don't think it is but a full debug is required.

    I'll edit this post and get back to you. I have the exact same supplies except my mSD Is Polaroid & I have an AK2.1.
     
  11. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks I really appreaciate it!
     
  12. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so it seems like OS X can't merge folders, at least for me anyway. I copied over 1.8.5 and then 1.8.5a. When it had asked to replace the folders I had assumed it meant merge, like in Windows, but it had completely erased the old __aio folder and put in the 1.8.5a one with just the loaders. This caused an error on the AK stating that the "Adv.Evo" skin was missing in white text.

    To fix this, I had to go into 1.8.5a's loader folder and copy over the loaders manually onto an 1.8.5 installation since those were the only thing that changed.

    Other than that, everything is okay. I would highly suggest finding a Windows computer to configure this in because the "System Files Missing" error in blue text means that the AK was detected, (so no contact issue), the MicroSD was detected by the AK, (so no SD mounting issues) but when it went to scan for the desired files, nothing was found. For me, once I manually copied over 1.8.5a as described above, it booted on my DS just fine.
     
  13. LukePounds
    OP

    Newcomer LukePounds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Good news I went through the process with Windows Vista PC and everything worked out great. Thanks for the help.

    Not really sure what the issue is but I'm happy its resolved! [​IMG]
     
  14. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to hear it's working. I wonder if the "Disk Repair" function under the "First Aid" tab in Disk Utility may have helped as well. It almost sounds as if your FAT table and clusters weren't synching up properly. On a Mac when you delete files from a FAT32 formatted device, it moves them to a hidden folder on that device and your available space stays the same. This hidden folder (.505/Trash/ I think) is dumped instantly with Windows, but only empties on a Mac when you empty your trash can... even if there was nothing in it before attaching your micro sd.
     

Share This Page