Cannot SSH with my iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by haddad, Apr 7, 2011.

Apr 7, 2011

Cannot SSH with my iPhone by haddad at 5:42 PM (1,347 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, I got a iPhone 3Gs on firmware 4.1 and it is jailbroken, so I am using WinSCP now and I put the following info into WinSCP

    Host Name: (My iPhone's IP Address)
    User Name: root
    Password: alpine
    Port Number: 22
    Private Key File: (I left blank)
    File Protocol: (tried all 3)

    And it never works [​IMG] why??
     
  2. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    What error message do you get when you try to connect?

    Also did you install the ssh package on the iphone?
     
  3. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
  4. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried iPhone browser? It's so much simpler than using ssh for most purposes.
     
  5. Joktan

    Member Joktan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    In a big mansion...in Rancoon
    Country:
    United States
    mine will sometimes stop working and its sometimes becasue the ip address is different from the last time i used it.check to make sure you have it right.
     
  6. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I used to get that error, basically constant retrying gets passed it.
    It stopped after I saved the password and user though.

    Also, I recommend you change the password aswell:
    when you do get into SSH, Ctrl+T then type "passwd" without quotes, then change the password.
     
  7. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    I have tried re-connecting over 100 times and still same error, and I cannt chage the password if I get inti SSH [​IMG]
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    This is going to sound obvious, but do make sure that both your computer and iPhone are on the same wifi network to begin with. If you're on a laptop or something that has both an Ethernet cord and a wifi access point, perhaps try unplugging the Ethernet cord, just for grins.

    Otherwise it looks like you're doing everything right, so I don't really know what the problem is.
     
  9. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes of course I am on the same WiFi network [​IMG]

    I need help, please guys [​IMG]
     
  10. Pillows

    Newcomer Pillows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    This fluffy pillow
    Country:
    Philippines
    Host should be the IP Address in your iPhone.
    User is root.
    Password is alpine.
    Be sure you have OpenSCP in the computer.
    Also, have OpenSSH on the iPhone.
    Set File Protocol to SCP.
     
  11. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    What is OpenSCP?

    --EDIT--

    I found something really weird.... If I reinstall OpenSSH on my iphone, the SSH worlks for like 3-5 seconds then gets constant error again, if I reinstall it again (OpenSSH) it works for about 3-5 seconds then I get the same error

    weird?
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I like to use SSH Secure Shell rather then WinSCP
    but I found that ssh is rather unreliable and slow so I just opt for iFunBox instead
     
  13. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe another package is conflicting with openSSH (although I doubt it). What other things did you install with Cydia that might affect wifi?
    Make sure you did all your updates in Cydia.

    Also, I sometimes get that error if a device is locked. Try unlocking it before.
     
  14. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    This.

    I use SSH only when absolutely necessary. iFunBox is so much faster and consistent.
     
  15. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    but that requires usb cable right?
     
  16. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Would you mind telling me what you're trying to SSH for?

    It's possible that you could use iFile if is a relatively small task.
     
  17. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    @haddad: Yes, and afc2add (which is installed automatically by certain jailbreaks, such as Greenpois0n)
     
  18. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    just transferring photo's. [​IMG] and i would like to do it without the use for a cable
     

Share This Page