Cannot Connect to Internet After Re-Installing XP

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by .Chris, Apr 12, 2011.

Apr 12, 2011
  1. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    After re-installing Windows XP Home Edition, I cannot connect to my wireless internet connection or detect any wireless networks.
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Install the drivers for your wireless card/chip?
     
  3. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I am using a wireless router, and so do I just search for the router's drivers then install?

    How do I find out what wireless card/chip I have?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Is it a laptop?
    Check the manufacturers page for the model and see if there are drivers.
     
  5. hobo33

    Newcomer hobo33 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Is your router's SSID hidden?

    EDIT: If you're using a laptop, do you have a button that disables your wireless card? Because on mine I know I have one right next to the power button, which is rather annoying. [​IMG]
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check in the Device Manager. But twiz is right, this is almost certainly an issue of the divers not being installed.
     
  7. CherrySkitty

    Member CherrySkitty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    And try to update the drivers from there o.o
     

Share This Page