Hacking Can we install and run DSiWare in SysNAND using Gateway?

Codename

GREEN BRO IS BEST BRO
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
243
Country
Canada
I got my Gateway 3DS a few days ago and I'm really interested in all the things that can be done with it. One thing I haven't seen much mention of is whether or not we can use it to install DSiWare. I know that DSiWare can't be run in EmuNAND , but I was wondering - could we install DSiWare in Gateway-mode SysNAND (running Gateway mode without having an EmuNAND partition on the 3DS SD Card sends the system into SysNAND with Gateway-mode privileges, which allows installation and uninstallation of titles and running of CIAs and ROMs), then boot back into regular SysNAND and run the installed DSiWare? I was looking at the different titles on my SysNAND (in Gateway-mode SysNAND) using Big Red Menu and I noticed that the Zelda Four Swords DSiWare (which I had legally downloaded off the eShop) was located in the NAND, same as the rest of the system titles. So is there any way that we could dump DSiWare as CIAs and try to install them? The only way I know how to dump DSiWare really is by transferring it to your SD Card via Data Management. Unfortunately, that just leaves us with a .bin, which I'm not even sure how it works. Any ideas or thoughts?
 

apoptygma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
704
Trophies
0
XP
612
Country
I've often wondered if anyone has done much mucking around with the Ticket DB. I mean, how hard could it really be to modify....
 

apoptygma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
704
Trophies
0
XP
612
Country
Format isn't documented but yeah it's not too complex I imagine. But what's the point?
The only point would be to create entries for the DSiware titles (and possibly the ambassador titles) which will not load up under emunand.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,746
Trophies
2
XP
8,604
Country
Tuvalu
I've often wondered if anyone has done much mucking around with the Ticket DB. I mean, how hard could it really be to modify....

if the unique ids in the ticket match the console, then sure i guess it would work if you simply 'injected' the ticket into the db :)
but if you are injecting a ticket for a different console, then no.
 

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,613
Trophies
2
XP
3,064
Country
Vietnam
The only point would be to create entries for the DSiware titles (and possibly the ambassador titles) which will not load up under emunand.

It won't load anyway.
However if a valid signed ticket is inserted it will work in sysnand. But even then you could just install a valid CIA.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,746
Trophies
2
XP
8,604
Country
Tuvalu
It won't load anyway.
However if a valid signed ticket is inserted it will work in sysnand. But even then you could just install a valid CIA.

but we can't make valid cias (for non preinstalled stuff) :( (i would add the function to FunkyCIA so we can make 'perfect' backups for our own consoles but they just don't work when we try to install them, there must be a problem somewhere)
 

Codename

GREEN BRO IS BEST BRO
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
243
Country
Canada
cearp How come we can install titles to the SysNAND while in GW-mode SysNAND but we can't do the same for DSiWare? The idea of doing so actually came to mind when I was looking over your thread about installing the flashcardtimewarp.cia in GW-mode SysNAND.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,746
Trophies
2
XP
8,604
Country
Tuvalu
cearp How come we can install titles to the SysNAND while in GW-mode SysNAND but we can't do the same for DSiWare? The idea of doing so actually came to mind when I was looking over your thread about installing the flashcardtimewarp.cia in GW-mode SysNAND.

you can INSTALL anything you want, but dsiware will not work since gw exploits breaks ds stuff :)
 

Codename

GREEN BRO IS BEST BRO
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
243
Country
Canada
you can INSTALL anything you want, but dsiware will not work since gw exploits breaks ds stuff :)

But couldn't we use the DSiWare that was installed to SysNAND while in regular SysNAND (not GW-mode SysNAND)? The flashcardtimewarp.cia is installed in GW-mode SysNAND and is run in regular SysNAND, so what's preventing us from doing the same with DSiWare?
 

Duo8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
3,613
Trophies
2
XP
3,064
Country
Vietnam
But couldn't we use the DSiWare that was installed to SysNAND while in regular SysNAND (not GW-mode SysNAND)? The flashcardtimewarp.cia is installed in GW-mode SysNAND and is run in regular SysNAND, so what's preventing us from doing the same with DSiWare?

Nothing if you have a valid ticket for it.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,746
Trophies
2
XP
8,604
Country
Tuvalu
But couldn't we use the DSiWare that was installed to SysNAND while in regular SysNAND (not GW-mode SysNAND)? The flashcardtimewarp.cia is installed in GW-mode SysNAND and is run in regular SysNAND, so what's preventing us from doing the same with DSiWare?

if you want to play things without gw-mode, it needs to be legit to the system.
for basically everything, if you install a cia it is not legit, so you will need gw to play it.
so no, it will not work without gw mode. and dsi stuff it will not work in gw mode anyway.
the ds flash card whitelist thing i uploaded just breaks the whitelist effectively.
it does not matter that you installed it in 'gw-mode' sysnand, if you could install it without gw mode in sysnand it would be the same result, but we need gw mode to use devmenu.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,746
Trophies
2
XP
8,604
Country
Tuvalu
Yes it does.

ha yes, technically the ticket is valid, but the cia is not.
a cia actually contains the ticket (and the tmd too i think..., at least information from the tmd) - it is the tmd that is not valid, so the cia is not 100% legit.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,746
Trophies
2
XP
8,604
Country
Tuvalu
How can we inject a valid ticket into DSiWare then? Is it similar to working with CIAs or is it unheard of?

what i have been trying to show is that dsiware is not special compared to anything else, just that it will simply not work in gw mode.

-- so as soon as gw/as soon as anyone else lets us use dsi stuff in a 'cfw environment', like gw mode etc, then we can use dsiware, just be patient, we cannot do it yet :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Codename

Codename

GREEN BRO IS BEST BRO
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
243
Country
Canada
what i have been trying to show is that dsiware is not special compared to anything else, just that it will simply not work in gw mode.

-- so as soon as gw/as asson as anyone else lets us use dsi stuff in a 'cfw environment', like gw mode etc, then we can use dsiware, just be patient, we cannot do it yet :)

Thank you. Once last question, though slightly off-topic: why did you make the flashcardtimewarp.cia a broken cia? Couldn't you just have made a cia of the DS Flashcard Whitelist title from an older system firmware version? Or would that not be as effective?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    All pope's start as priests many years experience making choir boys sing
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, the reasons i said that you deleting your pronouns page was sad is bc when i made my account i realized there was more info when you put "en" before the "pronouns" part in the url of the website and that meant i didnt see all the info on your page, and also bc i would have added you to my circle
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Today's a shitty day
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, Didnt know that.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I'm not really fond of using Pronouns.page tbf.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, Yea you already told me, you didnt feel like updating often your page or smh like that
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Only good use of a Fire Stick is to pirate movies. I know that the models before HD (I think) is easy to enable dev mode.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Firestick is just android until they change os
    +2
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, soooooo I'm slowly returning to Roblox and last night I played the games on that platform with a friend of mine from there who apparently missed me. Is that ok?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its ok, I'll allow it
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Did you gift him roblox buks
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Although i have 14 robux (somebody gave me)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Al quit the drug industry and got into robloxbucks
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Reject modernity, embrace tradition lol.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Reject tradition embrace modernity
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Fuck Thanksgiving
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @K3Nv2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Reject modesty, embrace bdsm!
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Batman and Robin fanart
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bruce banner having a night out, gets angry
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Robin rule 34
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Robin can't speak around catwoman
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol