Hacking Can we flash cardridges? (answer in technical way wanted)

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
i don't think the 3ds has the ability to flash to a cartridge maybe a pc would do it buuuuut we don't have a way to access a 3ds cartridge on a pc (I think so)
 

adrifcastr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
2,038
Trophies
0
XP
1,947
Country
Germany

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
as I think the cartridge does not use something like a cia file or 3ds... it probably uses the raw uncompressed files which I think are hard to get.
 

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
although it would be amazing if we could do that. think of the possibilities..

vc injections on a cart, unsigned apps like ntr on carts, videos.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

CTR Cards use .CCI files which stands for CTR Cardridge Image
And NTR Cards use .NDS files I believe
huh well is there a way to get these files
 

adrifcastr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
2,038
Trophies
0
XP
1,947
Country
Germany
although it would be amazing if we could do that. think of the possibilities..

vc injections on a cart, unsigned apps like ntr on carts, videos.
I don't know if a stock 3d would read unsigned CCI's but yeah, yeah rom hacks would be easier, also for NDS Games.
 

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
although it would be amazing if we could do that. think of the possibilities..

vc injections on a cart, unsigned apps like ntr on carts, videos.

although I think unsigned apps would still need cfw because of the checks that the system does

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I think it is still possible but EXTREMLY hard..

but again we found a way to flash a whole system firmware to the 3ds nand chip.

maybe we can do the same but on a cartridge chip.
 

adrifcastr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
2,038
Trophies
0
XP
1,947
Country
Germany
although it would be amazing if we could do that. think of the possibilities..

vc injections on a cart, unsigned apps like ntr on carts, videos.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


huh well is there a way to get these files
you can convert CIA/3DS files into CCI and backwards. also Unity for N3DS can build CCI files
and well you can dump an NTR card to get the NDS file
 

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
I think that the storage chips are Read-Only, so once they are flashed they are done. Seems logical as to why the games are called ROMs. I could be wrong on this though.
that is also what I am thinking but then how can we save if they are only read
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
The Image I inserted is a PCB of a gamecard, the large chip most likely contains the game data,
 

Attachments

  • 300px-GamecardPhy.jpg
    300px-GamecardPhy.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 168

mohdsaher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
139
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
no there not stored on the sd card because this a action replay powersaves thing uses the cards to read the saves so that clears something
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    This is not the EOF
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    wait i didn't get the time to see what it said
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    damn it, linuxares
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the shitbox has been effectively eof for a long time and it was perfect that way
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    ehh post it in the eof chat instead? i still want to see it
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    exactly, that's a good place for it x3
  • WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes:
    Well this is interesting
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    For what?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't like this new shitbox, it's too complicated
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    well this isn't a shoutbox but a chat
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's basically the same thing shoutbox has been around for years just upgraded
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh the floating chat thing is new.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    And you can do formatting.
  • Arecaidian Fox @ Arecaidian Fox:
    Oooooh, colors.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    I think what you meant was "colors".
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    :^)
    +1
  • antiNT @ antiNT:
    nice
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    hi o w o
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    yo does anyone know how to fix the 'no main boot entries found, check that bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini has boot entries or use more configs button for more boot entries' error on hekate??? i keep getting it when i try to click the launch option
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out
  • chrisrlink @ chrisrlink:
    ugh always have trouble sleeping
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Have you tried closing your eyes?
  • HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker:
    Hey, this is cool! Now we can chat pretty much anywhere.
    HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker: Hey, this is cool! Now we can chat pretty much anywhere.