ROM Hack Can someone explain headers to me

Educk76

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I just got a Sky3DS for my kids. I'm a total noob when it comes to 3ds rom stuff. I've found some of the roms that we want, but in the process I have learned a little bit about headers. There is lots of talk about public and private headers, but little I can find that explains it all. So I just thought I would see if someone could take a few minutes to explain what they are.

Public Headers
Private Headers
Are these only important for games that go online, or for any game you play while your 3ds is connected to the internet?
Some thread was talking about getting the header from a game like Steel Diver because it is fairly cheap. So if I grab a header from another game, can I no longer play that game? We already have lots of 3ds cards, can I get the headers off those, or will that be a problem if both games are ever online at the same time?
Do all games have these headers that you can grab, or only the kind that go online?
Some roms say they are patched for online, does that mean they are safe?

Much thanks to anyone that can take the time to help me with some of this.

Last edited by Educk76,

Xenon Hacks

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I just got a Sky3DS for my kids. I'm a total noob when it comes to 3ds rom stuff. I've found some of the roms that we want, but in the process I have learned a little bit about headers. There is lots of talk about public and private headers, but little I can find that explains it all. So I just thought I would see if someone could take a few minutes to explain what they are.

Public Headers
Private Headers
Are these only important for games that go online, or for any game you play while your 3ds is connected to the internet?