Hacking Can i play different region disc games?

perspex

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
69
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
153
Country
India
Hey guys, i got the homebrew launcher and loadiine gx 2 working on my 5.5.1 wii u. I even downloaded NES Remix 2 rom and tested it, it works fine!

I was just wondering if there is any way or any homebrew app with which i can i play different region disc games. I have a US wii u, but i have copy of zelda wind waker hd from EU.

You know, something like the RegionFour for the 3ds.Any help will be appreciated.
 
Last edited by perspex,

handy333

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Over in Wonderlust
Website
projectrisingsun.weebly.com
XP
245
Country
United States
Hey guys, i got the homebrew launcher and loadiine gx 2 working on my 5.5.1 wii u. I even downloaded NES Remix 2 rom and tested it, it works fine!

I was just wondering if there is any way or any homebrew app with which i can i play different region disc games. I have a US wii, but i have copy of zelda wind waker hd from EU.

You know, something like the RegionFour for the 3ds.Any help will be appreciated.

Quick, edit your post. EDIT YOUR POST!
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,684
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,309
Country
France
Loadiine is capable of launching the inserted disc, but it's working a little differently than a classic disc launcher.
instead of launching the disc, it's "searching for SSB TitleID" and launching it, wherever the game is located (disc or eshop). The console is doing the job of loading it from the disc.

It would require that the WiiU acknowledge the game you insert and register it's TitleID in the "list of installed and launch-able titles". From here, loadiine could be edited to launch your game's titleID.
I doubt the WiiU would add a TitleID to the available title list if it's from another region.

But who knows ... I never tried an imported disc myself.
I don't know what really happens when you insert a game from another region.


I know Loadiine recently changed the way it's launching discs. I don't know how the old method was working. Maybe it was actually launching the inserted disc, whatever it was ?
You could try with loadiine 4.0 (not loadiine GX2), or with ddd (and a wrong IP or no servers) and the disc will continue loading.

Let me know if ddd is actually launching disc from another region ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Dungeonseeker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
1,192
Country
Before you try check the loadiine compatibility thread because some games require you to rename folders before you can use them on different region consoles. If Windwaker requires this then it's never going to launch from disc.

You could just get a Windwaker ROM and play that though ;)
 

perspex

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
69
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
153
Country
India
Loadiine is capable of launching the inserted disc, but it's working a little differently than a classic disc launcher.
instead of launching the disc, it's "searching for SSB TitleID" and launching it, wherever the game is located (disc or eshop)....
You are a goddamn genius!!! IT FREAKING WORKS! IT WORKS!

So i used the homebrew app store to download ddd, i tried to setup the server but the windows app is 32 bit and its not running on my 64bit system. Bummed out, i went upto my wii u with the ddd app still running, asking me to setup the server. It said Press A to install dumper(or something like that)and launch the disc.

I Pressed A, the screen went white for a few seconds.....i thought it froze, was about to restart it, when voila! the wind waker loading screen came up....then it installed the save data...and its sitting at the main menu. This is great.....thanks a lot man. You should make a thread about this so people can know! or i can make it too if you want.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,684
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,309
Country
France
Glad it works :)
I guess nobody tested it before, but based on the way DDD is auto-booting the disc to dump it I thought it would bypass the region check if it's checked by the WiiU Menu itself and not the game.
It also mean anybody can dump a different game region (there's not a lot of japanese dump released).

I don't know if you'll have issues managing the savegames and game data in the WiiU data menu, as it will have a TitleID from a different region, but I guess Nintendo didn't even add a detection in that menu ;)
it's probably just listing all found folders and files, regardless of the TitleID (folder name).

Network should be initialized, but I don't know if it will work (you could be banned if they notice a different titleID region on miiverse, etc.)


edit:
Oh, and what DungeonSeeker said above is very important.
Some games use the console's region information to access different folders and files on the disc.
if you launch such games, they will not work.

ex, if a game tries to access:
/vol/content/<console region>/<language>/menu.bin
it will try to load:
/vol/content/eu/fr/menu.bin on a french console, but will not find it if you have an american game, as "eu" will probably be named "us".
the french "menu.bin" could be present (some USA games have the FR language) but located in the wrong folder.
/vol/content/us/fr/menu.bin
 

perspex

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
69
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
153
Country
India
well the game works as of now...i just entered the world and saw, it didnt save or anything but i thought there should be an auto save feature. When i restarted the game again, it didnt find any save files. Im not sure now if the game wont save at all or if I didnt save the game thats why nothing popped up. Anyway, atleast got it to work....i'll play it a bit more later and confirm if i can actually save or not.

Thanks again for the help guys.
 

7Robins

Bob is watching you.
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
561
Trophies
0
Location
Tennessee
XP
362
Country
United States
Wind Waker's saving system is really odd in that it doesn't save until you quit the game and input "Save and Quit to Title," and if you save in a dungeon, it'll put you back at the entrance.
 

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,064
Trophies
1
XP
4,657
Country
Japan
So wait, we now accidently have region free Wii U disc loading? (the above folder naming issue aside).
 

perspex

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
69
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
153
Country
India
So wait, we now accidently have region free Wii U disc loading? (the above folder naming issue aside).
yeah...yeah i guess we do. :D Maybe i just got lucky....dunno if this will work with all games. Discoveries to be madeeeee

Update: okay, so i can confirm that saving does in fact work. Wind waker doesn't auto save, manually saved the game and restarted it, save file was there. So....yeah.....booyah!
 
Last edited by perspex,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Sceptre Curved 40" Class 16:9 QHD 2560x1440 Gaming Display DisplayPort up to 165Hz AMD FreeSync...