Can Acekard2i's be traked?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by gregegg28, Jan 21, 2010.

Jan 21, 2010

Can Acekard2i's be traked? by gregegg28 at 1:09 AM (2,125 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. gregegg28
    OP

    Newcomer gregegg28 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Can Acekard2i's be traked?
    I want to get my DSi repaired for free by Nintendo.
    Is there any way Nintendo can know that Iv'e played nds,nes, and gbc roms on it and get me in big trouble? (besides leaving the card in it when I sent it to them)
    [​IMG]

    I ussualy only use my acekard for reading, watching videos, and homebrew I even got the retail game zelda spirit tracks for christmas.

    My dsi is still covered by the warrenty.

    It is the R button (blowing doesn't work) and the camera led on the outside that have stopped working and I'm always having to blow in the L button.

    My dsi has 1.4U firmware and the acekard2i has the danny phantom trick.

    This is not why the R button is not working. [​IMG]
     
  2. grimtooth

    Member grimtooth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    under the stairs
    Country:
    no, don't worry.
     
  3. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    they cannot know, unless you leave acekard inside [​IMG]
     
  4. grindbart

    Member grindbart GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Germany
    just remove the card and RMA the DSi,everything is ok [​IMG]
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    But no... No data is saved to the DS itself.
     
  6. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    That's an awesome picture there, did you make it yourself? [​IMG]
     
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah... was quick and dirty (like the half-assed shadow)
     
  8. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    OSHI--

    I just had to look up at my ceiling to make sure he's not watching me [​IMG]

    *grips hilt of sword, ready to draw at a moment's notice*
    Only a ninja can stop a ninja...
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Neenja!
     
  11. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I wouldn't be surprised if they recorded any attempts at using old non dsi flashcarts in your dsi incase someone brings it in for warranty they can simply say you've been using unofficial carts in your dsi which is why it was damaged and then refuse to fix it for free.
     
  12. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    How could they? There's no form of storage in the DSi to keep logs of what the user inserts! I mean, it's not as if the ram could store it. And the ROM is ROM (duh) so there's nowhere for it to go!
     
  13. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    DSi has nand storage for you know dsiware and system updates Mr Dumbfuck.
     
  14. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Go to "System settings" and select "Format System Memory"
    BTW, even with this, i doubt everything is reseted to default factory.
     
  15. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    ... Now I just feel really stupid. Damn, how the hell could I forget that?!
     
  16. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it does keep track of stuff like that in the NAND memory, then you might be officially ******.

    Pity we don't have the same utilities for the DSi as we do the Wii. I could have sworn there is a utility for the Wii that can remove or clear parts of the NAND.
     
  17. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah they could record that, but you'd have to be stupid enough to try a DS flash cart on a DSi even though it's been confirmed to hell that it doesn't work.
    Otherwise, they'd only know that you're a Danny Phantom fan. [​IMG]
     
  18. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...wait...yeah.

    I just remembered that these (i) versions of carts usually use a header from another game to trick the system (A very basic, yet extremely effective method I must say).

    So your AK2i if it has entries in the NAND, those entries will just show up with the information that the Danny Phantom game has, theoretically...
     
  19. gregegg28
    OP

    Newcomer gregegg28 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    incase this matters i did try using my acekard2i without the danny phantom trick after I system updated to 1.4U and it showed the acekard logo and said acekard2i above it but it would not start. and I really don't want to format system memory because i spent about 60$ in dsiware. and do you know any good reliable dsi repair place that that won't cost $20000 in services+shipping because i don't want to risk sending it in to nintendo. i live in utah county
     

Share This Page