Buying a 360, need help!

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by SectionX, Sep 29, 2008.

Sep 29, 2008

Buying a 360, need help! by SectionX at 2:38 PM (1,092 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    I am thinking of buying a XBOX 360 Arcade HDMI with iXtreme Firmware. I am not sure if you can boot regionlocked games with it though?

    Like I want to boot american Tales of Vesperia (which is regionlocked) on this european xbox 360. Will it work?


    Help!
     
  2. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Depends what game it is, really. Some are regionfree, some are partitally locked and some are locked to just one region.

    iXtreme doesn't make NTSC games work on PAL systems unless that game supports it.
     
  3. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    okay so what do I need to do in order to get NTSC games work on a PAL system?
     
  4. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't, plain and simple.

    If it's region locked, then it's region locked.
     
  5. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    um but there must be some kind of modchip like all other consoles?
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There isn't. You have the flash and that's it.

    Only alternative is if you have a old console (pre hdmi) , you can change the region of the console itself

    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=621073

    But it's a lot of work , a lot of soldering , and it doesn't make it region free , just changes the region.
     
  7. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah dvd flashing is the way to go when you want to play backups on the 360.

    Dude, I'm sensing you wouldn't let this matter over region locking down. Get over it.
     
  8. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:

    but i want to get a 360 just for tales of vesperia which is region locked [​IMG]
     
  9. skydoune

    Newcomer skydoune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Quebec City
    Country:
    Canada
    Btw, newer 360 with liteon drives aren't flashable at all.
     
  10. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but Lite-ons can have their key and spoof info extracted now so you can change it for a BenQ
     
  11. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get a ntsc 360 then. The people who make that game hate the pal region , so if you're interested in any of their other games as well , then may as well get a ntsc box.
     
  12. sigh

    Newcomer sigh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm also in the same boat.

    I don't know if this is any use:
    http://www.modchipstore.com/Pre-Modified-C...lled-16346.html

    They're pre modded 360's, but on the description it says it allows for imports although I'm unsure if you can switch it back to it's original region. I'm looking to play Ketsui(jap), but also looking at Braid, Mirrors Edge and Castle Crashers.

    Anyone know if these pre mod 360's are any good?
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Globe 360 is just another drive mod , it does exactly what the hacked firmware does , except it costs you money. It won't play region locked imports.
     

Share This Page