Building new computer

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by NunoSnica, Sep 8, 2012.

Sep 8, 2012

Building new computer by NunoSnica at 11:51 PM (878 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

1. NunoSnica
    OP

Newcomer NunoSnica Member

Portugal
    Hey guys, I'm making my own computer, but since I am no expert, I'd like someones oppinion on the pieces I put together. Basically I'm building a gaming computer, with as less money as possible.

Heres what I'm thinking of getting:

Motherboard- ASUS P8H61-M
    Processor- INTEL CORE i3 2120 (3.3GHZ)
    Graphics card- ASUS GT440 DI 1GB DDR5
    HDD- WESTERN DIGITAL 500GB SATA III 64MB GREEN
    PSU- XFX PRO 550W CORE EDITION
    RAM- CORSAIR KIT 8GB DDR3 1333MHZ XMS3

And a dvd writer/reader xD

So, I'd like to hear your oppinion on this machine. It's not intended to run hardcore games at maximum settings.

What it is intended is to run most games at at least medium settings.

Give me your thoughts and oppinions please.

Thanks in advance.

P.S: I only noticed now that the links are attached to the stuff I'm getting. You can either ignore those or click on them to see the stuff I'm getting. By the way that's the shop I'm gonna get the stuff from.

2. Tom Bombadildo

Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

pip
    United States
    Seems alright to me. I have almost the exact same setup but half the RAM and a different mobo and it runs almost everything on high settings, so you should be just fine.

I recommend overclocking the GPU to 900mhz and the shader clock to 1700mhz, everything runs relatively stable and the GPU doesn't heat up too much.

3. soulx

Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

Canada
    Budget?

4. cobleman

Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

Australia
    Check out the Gskill Ram instead

5. NunoSnica
    OP

Portugal
    @Suprgamr232 Thanks for the fast reply, that is good to know. I was afraid the PSU wasn't good enough or something like that.

@soulx budget is around 500€