Bsod: Dead dead

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Kamikazu, Dec 13, 2012.

Dec 13, 2012

Bsod: Dead dead by Kamikazu at 7:15 PM (1,471 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Kamikazu
    OP

    Newcomer Kamikazu Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As the title suggests I'm posting a mini dump file of a BSOD that showed a Deaddead description.

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/76921955/121312-57891-01.dmp

    You will find the minidump file by clicking the link above.

    Any feedback or help with the issue would be appreciated as I have absolutely no idea whats causing these blue screens.

    It has occurred twice in 24 hours. I am not happy. :(
     
  2. geishroy

    Suspended geishroy Suspended

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Manually initiated crash? Seems you are doing something wrong. What version of windows is this?
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Speaking for him since he's at my house right now:

    Windows 7 x64, OEM edition, pre-installed on his laptop.
    Core i7-iforget, GTX 675M

    His homework list from me: update graphics drivers, update WiFi drives (quick google search suggested this helps), finish Windows Update tasks.

    And since I don't know what to look for in the mini-dump, he uploaded it here for people more versed to look over.

    EDIT: Btw, one of the crashed occurred about 4 minutes after boot whilst looking through the Windows folder trying to find the minidump for the previous crash. Said previous crash occurred when loading up Guild Wars 2. There was one more minidump in their from a prior date, which occurred whilst internet browsing (image heavy website, not that it really affects anything).

    Since you say "manually initiated crash", and the code is 0xDEADDEAD, could that possibly be caused by a virus?
     
  4. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    it seems to happen while it access disk for caching purposes (pagefile). That could be caused because of hard disk doing stuff windows doesn't permit (like going to sleep, or going idle), phisically unreachable section of teh disk. (this could be a virus, a poorly built MBR while windows installing), or simply a vital file used by windows was intercepted.

    and looking at the file through HEX, i dunno if windows writes patterns "50 41 47 45" or "P A G E" in ASCII to fill the area as its own "magicword" reserved pagefile area, or if a virus wrote those sentences consecutively just to "take down your windows OS". Have you tried a fresh format?

    "F8 FF FF" seems to be a "delimiter" for info stored on "FF FF FF FF" pattern of the pagefile, and I see lots of zeros (empty space ready to be filled up). This should be normal.

    also, I notice a large portion of the pagefile with zeroes written, like 2.6/4 of the total pagefile area. Windows tend to assign three times your machine's RAM as your pagefile and use it. That means the remaining 1.4/4 portion was used as temporal data on your pagefile. This should be normal

    to sum it up:

    a borked hardware having trouble accesing certain areas of the hard disk for reasons, software cant handle, or malicious software corrupted pagefile (or reading/writing pagefile) was unsuccesful, or RAM area couldn't be written as pagefile.

    You should do a hard disk test (complete), ram stress test, disable possible hidden hdd functions that could be causing the drive (without OS's permission) going idle. Or simply disabling SATA if possible (this, if hard disk results in failure, as this could lead to a broken/faulty hdd controller)
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it possible that this is caused by some kind of clash or conflict or just driver error caused by a 8GB iSSD? I'd need to take another look at the laptop to confirm this (impossible until tomorrow at the earliest), but I think it has one of those built in thingies to make use of drive virtualization.

    That aside, I'll get him to download and run hdtest and memtest. I'll save seeking out a HDD toolset until afterwards.
     
  6. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    why didn't you mention it earlier. I saw some stuff referring to IOSTORE.SYS (as this module handles storage devices) IsolatedStorageFile. Then yeah it's highly probably that drive is causing you issues with that motherboard/iSSD combo. Find a way to update SSD's firmware if possible
     
  7. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Not positive, but 0xDEADDEAD could be a coincidence.
    I've seen 0xDEADBEEF be a correct value for something by accident.
     
  8. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    The dump seems to blame NETwNs64.sys, which appears to be your Intel wireless driver.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    As above, NETwNs64.sys is what actually caused the crash. No other drivers were involved, so that looks like the culprit.
     
  10. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Well, that's a relief then.
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Intel WiFi drivers tend to cause BSODs, just update them and it should go away.
     
  12. Kamikazu
    OP

    Newcomer Kamikazu Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly, thank you all.

    It's a relief to hear a simple driver update could resolve such a serious issue.

    Secondly, I have uploaded with this post 3 files.

    2 HD TEST SS: ( Benchmark, and Error tests)
    and;
    1 memtest SS: (of a double memtest procedure)

    Thirdly:
    Alongside the BSOD issue I have experienced a series of minor freezes (an inability to move tabs and/or mouse, open apps etc. from which the system recovered shortly after)
    and
    1 incident of a major crash in the process of writing this post, (same symptoms, freezing, from which the system did not recover from and auto shut down).

    I'm wondering if the two issues are related, if not, can I be directed towards solving that.
    As you will see from the HD/Mem Test Screen Shots uploaded, Hardware seems to be in working order.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Try getting the latest driver, as stated.
     
  14. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It's very possible that all of your issues are being caused by your Intel wireless driver. I recommend you find the latest driver for your wireless card and OS on Intel's website, completely remove the driver currently on your system, restart your computer, install the new driver, and restart your computer again. If you continue to have problems, then I recommend you repeat the steps above using the driver from your computer's manufacturer's website.
     
  15. Kamikazu
    OP

    Newcomer Kamikazu Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Done. all that remains to be seen is yet another bsod/ freeze...

    I'l report back as and when, if not, then next week.
     
  16. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Uhh I thought I read the problem have had gone away but it isn't yet.

    Be aware that the wireless could be an issue, as motherboard/chipset drivers too, as they handle all the I/O stuff, including southbridge bus so if not done already you should update them.

    As a last resort you should look for BIOS updates if wireless/etc drivers didn't fix those bsod you're facing
     
  17. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just adding, I left him last night with a series of software and driver updates to run using the Samsung software. WiFi, sound and BIOS updates were among them. He can use the software to look for chipset drivers too, although I won't be be t help any further until Sunday at the earliest.

    I didn't see any further BSoDs yesterday, although there were a couple short freezes. The first happened immediately before Kaspersky loaded up, and the second happened when trying to disable/reenable the WiFi to fix a temporary connection drop. That's why I'm getting him to update the WiFi drivers through Samsung instead of Intel - the Intel update didn't completely fix the problems.

    I'm also wondering about doing a clean install of Windows and removing half the Samsung bloatware. It would lose the mode shift, LCD panel and Fn functionality, but at least it should clean out and conflicting drivers and/or software.
     
  18. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Give this a shot before you format and reinstall windows. http://www.pcdecrapifier.com/
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to install the LCD control software and such again from the support site if needed, at least.

    But yeah sometimes when dealing with driver/support issues on a prebuilt, going clean can save a lot of headaches I'll admit.
     

Share This Page