Broken sd card? R4 HELP!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by OMGbluewaffle, Apr 27, 2011.

Apr 27, 2011

Broken sd card? R4 HELP! by OMGbluewaffle at 1:17 AM (1,007 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. OMGbluewaffle
    OP

    Newcomer OMGbluewaffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my R4 and I downloaded wood. I formated and did everything I was told but when I turn on my ds it says "SD/TF card error" Why? It reads fine on my phone but its showing this error on the ds. Help?! [​IMG] Thanks
     
  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    what r4 are you using? there's a billion out there
     
  3. OMGbluewaffle
    OP

    Newcomer OMGbluewaffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    An authentic Original R4.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What size is the SD?
     
  5. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    original r4's can only use up to 2GB SD's. no sdhc
     
  6. OMGbluewaffle
    OP

    Newcomer OMGbluewaffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    512MB
     
  7. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    try formatting it with panasonic sd formatter.
     
  8. OMGbluewaffle
    OP

    Newcomer OMGbluewaffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Already did, multiple times. :/ help?
     
  9. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    well im stumped. how much free space do you have left on the sd?
     
  10. OMGbluewaffle
    OP

    Newcomer OMGbluewaffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    About 400mb
     
  11. OMGbluewaffle
    OP

    Newcomer OMGbluewaffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Does another SD work?
     
  13. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Either something is wrong with the firmware, try redownloading, And put at the ROOT of the SD, or your R4 is broken.
     
  14. Stropdasje

    Member Stropdasje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Or the SD card is just not compatible. The R4 is picky and some SD cards work better than others. Look at R4 compatibility list and scroll all the way down. At the end of the page there is a table with SD card experiences, although I must confess it doesn't look like this is your problem since the 512MB cards listed are either okay or unknown; none failed.

    A firmware problem is not likely, in most of those cases you do not get the missing TF card message but a screen stuck on Loading, a crash or just nothing.

    Maybe the SD connector of the R4 is dirty. When the R4 really doesn't work then you could open the case and try to clean the contacts; there is a risk of damaging it beyond repair but when it is broken anyway... When the SD connector pins are bent it is a challenge to get it corrected, but maybe it can me done with a lot of skill and patience.

    It would be nice if you could try another SD card to rule out an SD card problem. Best price in the advertising at the top of the forum page is € 2.60, so it may not be worth the trouble...
     

Share This Page