bricked wii :(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by damon66, Jun 4, 2009.

Jun 4, 2009

bricked wii :( by damon66 at 12:33 AM (1,307 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. damon66
    OP

    Newcomer damon66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    ok a long time ago i soft modded my wii with twilight hack. recently my family got wii fit, when i put the disc in, the wii had to update. so i stupidly hit update, and now when i turn on my wii it just stays at the black signal screen, nothing happens. and i have to press the three buttons down to shut it off. is there any way to fix it?
     
  2. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you have Preloader or BootMii (as boot2) installed?
     
  3. damon66
    OP

    Newcomer damon66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    i have no idea
     
  4. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    savemiifree?
     
  5. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    What means, you have no idea? Since you wrote, you softmodded the Wii "long time ago", it might be Big N time. Means; you'll have to send your Wii in for repair.

    There is no other way to my knowledge. Maybe somebody else knows more than me...


    Edit: ...didn't thought of SaveMiiFrii.
     
  6. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have preloader (and its still functioning), then holding down reset immediately after switch on will bring you to preloader menu
     
  7. damon66
    OP

    Newcomer damon66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i dont remember i dont think i put any of that on. the only think i had was like stuff for emulators. nintendo is going to charge me like 100 dollars i bet.
     
  8. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    More. But you could try SafeMiiFrii. Just google around for how it's done.
     
  9. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    Or $200 according to Bushing's blog!
     
  10. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're charging £195 (approx $318) in the UK, for repair with Homebrew traces
     
  11. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should be fine, a black screen at startup usually means that not even nintendo will be able to get access to whats on your nand
     
  12. damon66
    OP

    Newcomer damon66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    i love how the stupid ass system costs 250 but its 200 to fix it. nintendo sucks dick. in the event they find out about modding will i get into any legal troubles.
     
  13. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt it, if they are offering to repair a HB modded wii. They've hiked the price to attempt to secure sales of more consoles. As long as you have original games, then there's no no reason why you can't own backups/ROMs
     
  14. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    They will repair it. But they charge around 200€ for it don't know the prices in the USA.
     
  15. Satan2k

    Newcomer Satan2k Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Belgium
    According to the other posts, if you did not install bootmii neither preloader, you're pretty stuck. I knew bushing was working on a semi brick recovery device (before bootmii) but i don't know if it did goes somewhere.

    I advise you to send it to repair, if they cant even access menu, i don't think they will see the soft modded parts.

    Everyone should install bootmii or preloader before installing custom channels & stuff...
     
  16. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,654
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    cheaper to buy drivekey and use the recovery disc? i don't know if its possible in this situation, just a suggestion, drivekey about $70 usd
     

Share This Page