Bootmii IOS front buttons fix?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jackdanielchan, Aug 5, 2009.

Aug 5, 2009
  1. jackdanielchan
    OP

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    Does anyone know if there is a fix for the Bootmii IOS? I don't have a GC controller and I want to backup my system NAND beofre I softmod upgrade (again :\...)

    Or if it's possible if anyone could make a fix?
     


  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nope it's a know bug. I think Team Twiizers will have fixed it in the next release.
    Just buy a GC-controller.

    Ps.
    Do you have preloader installed ?
     
  3. jackdanielchan
    OP

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    Yeah I do have preloader installed, however I know sometimes it can fail to work...
     
  4. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Bootmii as IOS is not better than preloader.

    Only if you can install it as boot2 it's a great brick protection, as IOS you better use preloader.
     
  5. EtherealX

    Member EtherealX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
  6. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I think if u have preloader though and bootmii as an ios u can use preloader to go to bootmii and restore ur NAND in some cases. Can be handy I guess. Still nothing better than bootmii as boot 2 though
     
  7. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Never restore a NAND with if bootmii is installed as IOS and you have a working preloader with hbc, wadmanager or something else.

    If it's possible to start preloader on another type of brick, it's the best solution to reinstall the broken files/remove broken files.


    That's so because it's very dangerous to restore a NAND if bootmii is installed as IOS. The risk is great to get a full brick.

    But if you use the right way to fix some files with preloader and hbc and/or the "run dol function", the risc to get a full brick is very low
    if you do it right.


    Btw, if you only remove IOS60 on sysmenu 4.* bootmii and preloader couldn't help you.
     
  8. tanis698

    Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    restoring a nand with bootmii as a ios is fine..have you done it yet?i have and it works fine.stop telling people not to do something that works perfectly fine.
     
  9. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, but i think they understand the risk better than you.
     
  10. tanis698

    Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    have you tested bootmii as a ios yet??me and a few others have tried it a few times so i don't care what you say. untill you have tried it yourself then stop telling people bs k.i have tried it atleast 5 or 6 times on a lu65 wii and it worked perfect.yes you can get fucked if your power goes out but thats the same with any wii.they also said that it would not work at all before..here is a vid of another person doing it since its so not safe http://www.yafaze.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=1339.
     
  11. oops_ur_dead

    Newcomer oops_ur_dead Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    No it isnt... on a BootMii/boot2 Wii if the power goes out during a NAND backup you're fine. Also, if your filesystem on the SD card is messed up or the file is corrupt in a crucial spot then you are screwed over. Not so with BootMii/boot2. Just because it hasnt happened doesnt mean it won't in the future.
     
  12. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    I think you didn't understand what i mean.

    Possible a restore from bootmii as IOS work for 20, 30 or 40 times, but what is if it didn't work on restore #41?
    Yes, it's a full brick. There is nothing that you can do to fix the Wii, but if you use a installed preloader and simply remove a broken WAD the risk is lower.

    And that's what i mean, nothing more.
     
  13. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    HiBit, you are actually the one who didn't understand.

    The part from the BootMii readme you quoted doesn't mean that using BootMii/IOS for NAND restore is unsafe, not at all. It means that BootMii/IOS is inherently an unsafe brick protection method because you can't boot to BootMii/IOS on a fully bricked Wii in the first place.

    Don't bash other users when you're talking about something you didn't understand.
     
  14. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    That's right, the part from the readme was not correct.

    But the other things ...


    Btw, i didn't bash any user, we talk about it. [​IMG]
     
  15. tanis698

    Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    i use preloader as well cuz without preloader and bootmii as a ios no way to restore with your backup nand.oops_ur_dead i am talking about when restoring your nand not backing it up.yes bootmii as a ios isn't as good as bootmii as boot2 but preloader and bootmii as a ios you can't get anything better on newer wii's at this time thats what i am trying to get across to people.everybody who has bootmii as boot2 keeps saying don't bother with bootmii as a ios when they shouldn't be saying that.i tried restoring my nand after installing cioscorp witch was kinda junk to install for me.worked fine restoring.that is 1 reason why to have bootmii even as a ios.
     
  16. oops_ur_dead

    Newcomer oops_ur_dead Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    And so was I.
    Also, periods have spaces after them.
     
  17. tanis698

    Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    you act like this is english class god.someone with a name like yours shouldn't comment on anybodys grammer
     
  18. Digital1980

    Member Digital1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
    LOL!

    Come on ladies and germs. Can't we all just get along???
     
  19. oops_ur_dead

    Newcomer oops_ur_dead Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    English* Anybody's* Grammar*
    Also, my name was invented from the old Starcraft days. oops_you're_dead was too long.
     
  20. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So wait...

    What I've got from this thread is this:

    1. If you can only install BootMii to run from an IOS....
    2. You can still use it as a backup restore option for you wii as long as it's not bricked?

    i.e. I have 3.2 and take a nand backup (not as Boot2) then installed 4.1 and take another NAND backup (once I re-hack of course), then I could then replace the new NAND backup (4.1) with the 3.2 ver on the SD card and get back 3.2 by restoring using this IOS installed version?

    If yes, then that's still cool and the only risk you'll have is a power out during the restore?

    Nice quick way to jump between wii firmware versions IMO

    That sounds ok to me, let's face it guys, if when installing most other hacks out there the power does do out we'd be bricked anyway.
     

Share This Page