BootMii help please?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bnm81002, Jun 4, 2009.

Jun 4, 2009

BootMii help please? by bnm81002 at 11:25 PM (1,764 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. bnm81002
    OP

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I installed BootMii in my brother in law's Wii but how do I have his Wii boot into the Wii's menu rather than the BootMii menu? thanks
     
  2. cojiro

    Member cojiro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    It will boot into sysmenu after 5 seconds (change the bootdelay to shorter if you want it shorter delay) (if you use component cables, change NTSC to PROGRESSIVE)
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the bootmii menu will only show up if it can find the \bootmii folder on SD. So rename that.
     
  4. bnm81002
    OP

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States


    it still boots into BootMii, I set it 1 and nothing happens
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Enter a blank line at the end of the file
     
  6. bnm81002
    OP

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    is this what you mean?
    CODE
    # BootMii config file

    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=NTSC

    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU
     
  7. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    no, after the delay line add a empty line
     
  8. bnm81002
    OP

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States

    like this?
    CODE
    # BootMii config file

    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=NTSC

    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU

    # Autoboot delay, in seconds:
    # Default is 5
    BOOTDELAY=
     
  9. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    # BootMii config file

    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=NTSC

    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU

    # Autoboot delay, in seconds:
    # Default is 5
    BOOTDELAY=5
    -----> EMPTY LINE GOES HERE
     
  10. bnm81002
    OP

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
     
  11. srcdecay

    Newcomer srcdecay Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    have a bootmii question myself. installed it last week as IOS with the installer (can't do the boot2 install on my wii) and while it did put the /bootmii folder on the sd card, it didn't do anything else. the only place i was able to get in to bootmii was through the HBC by pressing the home key then "load bootmii"

    something i'm doing wrong?
     
  12. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's just how it is with BootMii-IOS. If you can't install it to boot2 then you can only access it through the HBC
     
  13. srcdecay

    Newcomer srcdecay Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    ahhh. got it. so i'll also need to install preloader 0.29 if i want brick protection, which i've been horribly paranoid about doing and haven't found a good 0.29 + 4.0 install guide around yet. thanks much.
     
  14. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I've you have a working NAND dump Preloader won't help you with brick protection. It can do other stuff for you, but BootMii actually beats Preloader at this part.
     
  15. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
     
  16. bnm81002
    OP

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States

    it didn't work with an empty line, so I just renamed the folder and the Wii boots into the Wii health screen, thanks for all the help
     
  17. srcdecay

    Newcomer srcdecay Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    oh i meant i should install preloader so if i do ever brick (which is unlikely) i'd be able to get in to bootmii through preloader for a NAND restore since i don't have a vulnerable boot2. without preloader, i wouldn't be able to get back to bootmii at all and i'd be screwed. [​IMG]
     
  18. pembo

    Member pembo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've built a wii homebrew app to modify the bootmii ini file which you might find useful - take a look here
     

Share This Page