Hacking bootmii has screwed my wii - please help.

scotty6kids

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
39
Country
Hi, I have followed one of the guides and it all seems to have gone horrible wrong,

when I switch the wii on I get the bootmii option come up, none of the wii remotes will sync so I am having to use one of my old gamecube controllers. If I try and load the wii system I get a message telling me that the files are corrupted.

I can get into the homebrew channel though,

is there anything that I can do to remove everything off, restore the wii back to the original set up, download and update the system and then start again?

please help - my son is screaming at me for screwing up his wii.

Thanks
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
10,247
Trophies
2
XP
12,775
Country
Sweden
1) Wiimotes do not work with Bootmii. Its either to use Power, Reset and eject to move or use a GC Controller..
2) Download "Safe updater 4.2" and put it on your SD Card (/apps/safeupdate42/boot.dol) and run it.
This will update your Wii to latest firmware without touching your Boot2, remember to do a NAND backup just incase.
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
Bootmii is showing up because you have the sd card with the bootmii folder on it inside the wii while its being turned on.

If you take the card out before turning on the wii bootmii will not load.

Also if you just rename the bootmii folder to bootmii1 or move it to your computer then it will not load up either.

If your getting a system menu corrupt message it sounds to me like you pre/priiloader is the cause of it.
 
D

Deleted-171178

Guest
Okay, first get a baseball bat or other blunt object and a pillowcase. Cover your sons head with the pillowcase...wait, you want to fix your Wii?
wink.gif
 

bula

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
812
Trophies
0
XP
42
Country
United States
scotty6kids said:
Hi, I have followed one of the guides and it all seems to have gone horrible wrong,

when I switch the wii on I get the bootmii option come up, none of the wii remotes will sync so I am having to use one of my old gamecube controllers. If I try and load the wii system I get a message telling me that the files are corrupted.

I can get into the homebrew channel though,

is there anything that I can do to remove everything off, restore the wii back to the original set up, download and update the system and then start again?

please help - my son is screaming at me for screwing up his wii.

Thanks
Just rename the sd\bootmii DIR as SD\bootmi_nand and it should boot in SM.
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,255
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,808
Country
United States
DeadlyFoez said:
Why are you telling him to goto 4.2? Whether you do it through the safe updater or any other method 4.2 is a bad idea.
What system menu version were you on before you screwed things up?

All you need to do is reinstall the system menu and you should be fine. Do not go up to 4.2. DO NOT remove bootmii. And do not ever play with things like the wii unless you really know what you are doing. Ignorance is what leads people to bricked wii's


Calm down. When people who have no idea what they're doing ask me for help, I tell them to update through Nintendo FIRST because it is the safest way for them to hack thier Wii, believe it or not. Then they can follow one of several guides that walk you through the whole soft modding proccess and, when they are done, use DoP-IOS MOD version 8 or above to install system menu 4.1 if they really must play out of region games from the disc channel.

But region free is the ONLY thing that really gets broken with 4.2 , it's easy to install 4.1 on top of it (but if you're a fan of priiloader you'd need to reinstall that again, with the proper hacks.ini) so why do you insist on bashing people who want to upgrade?

Me personaly... I need region free so I'm using 4.1. But I was using 4.2 for a while.
 

Blob

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Cyberspace!!!
Website
Visit site
XP
315
Country
United States
urherenow said:
Calm down. When people who have no idea what they're doing ask me for help, I tell them to update through Nintendo FIRST because it is the safest way for them to hack thier Wii, believe it or not. Then they can follow one of several guides that walk you through the whole soft modding proccess and, when they are done, use DoP-IOS MOD version 8 or above to install system menu 4.1 if they really must play out of region games from the disc channel.

But region free is the ONLY thing that really gets broken with 4.2 , it's easy to install 4.1 on top of it (but if you're a fan of priiloader you'd need to reinstall that again, with the proper hacks.ini) so why do you insist on bashing people who want to upgrade?

Me personaly... I need region free so I'm using 4.1. But I was using 4.2 for a while.

LOL... He clda have bricked / killed his other hacks he already has if he did just what you told him to do? It's not really a good idea to update all the way to 4.2 especially thur Nintendo! RF gets broken? JUST THAT??? How you know he don't want that broke or whatever? Also what if he had sysmenu hacks or whatever? That'd just really hose his setup as well.

I don't go up to 4.x at all I stick w/ 3.2 + Starfall + Bootmii FTW!
That's a unbrickable setup! I tell my friends don't UPDATE thur NINTENDO EVER.... To keep their stuff safe & workin solid... it's not like theyre gonna miss the so awesome features of the latest updates... meh./
 

seb77

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
45
Location
Quebec
XP
86
Country
Canada
QUOTE said:
I don't go up to 4.x at all I stick w/ 3.2 + Starfall + Bootmii FTW!
That's a unbrickable setup!

+1

Since I have TriiForce and nand sd/usb emulation I don't need the ninty sd menu anymore... so... why updating ?
 

Nelson9937955

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
What's so bad about 4.2? I followed the simplistic guide here and it was so easy, a cave man could do it. I see alot of people saying don't upgrade to 4.2 at all costs but I dont see what all the fuss is all about.

And what exactly is "region free"? I play PAL games on my NTSC Wii and I am at 4.2
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Z-BOI @ Z-BOI:
    anyone wanna be friends on ancf also know as animal crossing city folk i've got wiimmfi and if you do to friend me my code is 4859-3318-6620 name Z-boi town: pog
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Knee-how GBAtemp
  • Kittfox63 @ Kittfox63:
    Hello, anybody here?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    We aren't bodies we're robots
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    1800 Nintendo support at your service
  • Kittfox63 @ Kittfox63:
    Wow!
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Wow spelled upside down is Mom
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Sham Wow!!!
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Hi, it's Vince with S-S-S-Slap chop...
  • Shape @ Shape:
    You're gonna be in a great mood all day. You'll be slapping your troubles away with the slap chop, slappin' your troubles away with the slap chop...
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Guys I need help, my obscure Nintendo system from 20 years ago is giving an error when I try to plug it into my toaster
    +1
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Why aren't you guys helping???!!?
    +1
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Fine I will go to another more helpful website!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Onlyfans only takes money it's only helpful for about 20 minute
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    I am subscribed to kenniesnewname
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Unfortunately he doesn't post enough belly button vids, which is the only reason most of us still watch
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I hear that guy is pretty small tho
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hawaiian punch Mango Monsoon is pretty good ngl
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Really wanna add some whipped vodka to it
  • Shape @ Shape:
    @x65943 Apologies, but there may be an unintended delay on unofficial support requests after 8pm. Regarding the issue you are experiencing with connecting your retro system to your toaster, please try turning both devices off for at least 30 seconds before connecting them.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    If this does not resolve your issue then please refer to the OEM manual for the list of systems that are compatible with your toaster.
    Shape @ Shape: If this does not resolve your issue then please refer to the OEM manual for the list of systems...