Bootmii - Backup Nand

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Base, Jun 6, 2009.

Jun 6, 2009

Bootmii - Backup Nand by Base at 6:15 AM (6,560 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Base
    OP

    Newcomer Base Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Australia
    So, the backup thing has run for 30 mins+ and has not changed since when I first pressed start. All the blocks are greyed out and except the first one which is white.

    Also it says :
    f_1seek failed: 2
    f_1seek(0) failed: 2
    Backup failed: -1

    1) How long should it normally take?
    2) Does the above mean that it didn't work?
    3) Is it safe to turn the Wii off?
     
  2. Eagle687

    Newcomer Eagle687 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like it didn't work. The beta 1 was longer but you could see the progress block by block.
     
  3. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Beta 2 version of bootmii right? That seems like it most likely didn't work. It should all be done and double checked within like 5 minutes. How much space do you have on the SD card? It needs at least like 540 MB or so so it needs to be at least a 1 GB card.

    And if it already says it failed, pressing any buttons on the gc remote doesn't get you out if it?
     
  4. Base
    OP

    Newcomer Base Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Australia
    Its an empty 2gb SD card, with the Bootmii thing in it. And pressing buttons on the GC controller didn't do anything.

    Should I turn off the Wii? and What should I do/use to do the backup?
     
  5. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    in both versions, you should see progress as it first backs up the nand and then verifies the back-up. black blocks are bad (but not uncommon). according to readme file, up to 60 bad blocks may be present in your wii's memory. gray are unused, and green are the ones that actually have data which is what is backed up (in the 0.2 version, which is why its faster).

    I would try reformatting your sd card first (use a fresh one if possible) of at least 1GB in size (as was mentioned previously). you may receive a warning message that the sd card is not formatted correctly. just press A to continue and it should start the back-up process.
     
  6. Base
    OP

    Newcomer Base Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Australia
    So after turning off the Wii. I found out that it had corrupted the SD card. Now I reformatted the SD card and tried again and same thing happened.

    Should I just try a different SD card?
     
  7. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Just curious, is this through a boot2 installation of bootmii or IOS?
     
  8. Base
    OP

    Newcomer Base Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Australia
    Nevermind. All I had to do was change SD card. Works fine now. Thanks for the help.

    Also yeah it was a boot2 installation.
     
  9. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    I believe that bootmii does erase the card. maybe the files that it wrote onto your first sd card were causing the issue. I know when I performed my back-up, I automatically grabbed a 2nd sd card because I wanted to keep the nand back-up separate from the rest of my files.

    glad to hear that you got it sorted. [​IMG]
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I think only bootmii v1 reformats the sd
    but the problem is solved so doesn't matter [​IMG]
     
  11. Loron

    Newcomer Loron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    Quick question :

    I have two wiis. If i backup the nand of one of them and brick the other one, can i still restore the nand from the first one onto the second one? Or are the nand backups not compatible? Thanks
     
  12. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    No, you can't. The Wii's have different keys. If you can install bootmii to boot2 on the one that could possibly have gotten bricked, you should make a NAND backup of that one regardless.
     
  13. Loron

    Newcomer Loron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    Ok thanks [​IMG] btw where is the nand.bin saved after the NAND backup? I can't find it on my SD card even when showing hidden files.. it's weird
     
  14. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the SD root. Its 540mb. You can't miss it.
     
  15. Loron

    Newcomer Loron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    It's not there.. Just read on another threat that i should try creating a random nand.bin file and then overwrite it with the NAND backup, then it would show with the actual size... weird bug
     
  16. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well.. it's possible when you have you're keys and contact Bushing, he'll fix you're NAND backup so you can use it on the other Wii. For 10 euro's I believe.
     
  17. xanadunl

    Newcomer xanadunl Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This worked for me. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page