bootmii as boot 2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by John11, Jul 10, 2012.

Jul 10, 2012

bootmii as boot 2 by John11 at 1:49 AM (1,056 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. John11
    OP

    Newcomer John11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi and thanks for taking the time to read this post.

    I have one of those white wii's which came with system menu 2.1 and have installed the homebrew channel using letterbomb.

    First i updated to 4.3 via nintendo, as none of the hacks including twilight princess would work.

    All is going well but i cannot install bootmii as boot2. I ran the hackmii installer a few times and it goes through the motions and

    states " success " at the end but when i reboot the dvd drive only flashes the once.

    Can anyone please advise.

    Many thanks in advance. John.
     
  2. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Could you try another SD card? It sounds like your SD card may be incompatible (it can be a bit fickle).
     
  3. BuckMcCoy

    Newcomer BuckMcCoy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    How are you actually trying to run bootmii? Try turning the wii on without the SD card in, if you get the multiple flashes then bootmii is installed in boot2. With the SD in youre just going to get the usual single flash. To actually run bootmii just go to the homebrew channel, press home, and try launching from there.
     
  4. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    He says in the first post that he installed it as Boot2 and that it said "Success" at install time...it's probably installed just fine, Team Twiizers stuff seems pretty good about checking that kind of thing well. Also, pretty sure the HBC BootMii button is only for BootMii IOS, it's not likely to help.
     
  5. BuckMcCoy

    Newcomer BuckMcCoy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Youre right about the hbc thing, but it still stands that you only get the multiple flashes if the SDs out. If you get those flashes then it installed right and your SD is to blame.
     
  6. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, it's two flashes only if the SD is not inserted, one if there's a problem with the SD card inserted (he specified one flash, again...you should have read all of the first post). Also, I suggested that already fella. :P Not saying this to get on your case, but this is why you should read the thread you're responding to.
     
  7. BuckMcCoy

    Newcomer BuckMcCoy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    ...he's asking why it didn't install even though it says it did. I'm saying it probably did even if it refuses to pop up. The way to check is exactly what I've said twice despite you reminding me to reread. I hate to break it to you but the wii will flash the light once regradless of bootmii so thats not a good indication. I suggusted a check, you suggusted a possible fix, and for some reason you interprete that as not reading, I don't get it, perhaps you should try rereading the thread?
     
  8. Sicsuicide

    Member Sicsuicide GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Id say check by setting up the sd card with the bootmii files.
    One would think if its on boot2 the best/easiest is to test withthe bootmii files on the sd card
     
  9. John11
    OP

    Newcomer John11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. Many thanks for the replies.

    I thought i had to have the sd card inserted in order for bootmii boot2 to work, will removing the card not allow boot 2 as the wii needs the files on the card.

    I actually used a program called modmii which stated the sd card must be in at boot.

    I am using a sandisk 2gb sd card, do you think this is compatible.

    Many thanks. John.
     

Share This Page