Boot .gba in r4 program with supercard mini sd?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by nicky041192, Aug 29, 2008.

Aug 29, 2008
  1. nicky041192
    OP

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there a progrgram like gba loader that will boot .gba fiiles in slot 1 using my supercard mini sd as a ram pak?
    thanx
     
  2. ZenZero

    Member ZenZero GBATEMP's regular arse.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would also like to know this.
     
  3. santorix10

    Member santorix10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Rochester, NY - USA
    Country:
    United States
    So, you can play laggy GBA games using two flashcards instead of one?
     
  4. ZenZero

    Member ZenZero GBATEMP's regular arse.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,270
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just answer the question!
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Not that I'm aware of, as I don't think GBA ExpLoader supports the Supercard's RAM.
     
  6. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you saying you use a R4 & a slot2 supercard?
    if so then YSmenu supports the slot2 supercards & i think its possible to install YSmenu on a R4.......

    EDIT
    added quote marks
     
  7. estebangh

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    YES YOU CAN [​IMG]

    Yesterday I started doing something similar: I have a SCLite and DSTT.

    Probably now you're asking how I did it, I installed YSMenu to load them and using GBA Tool Advance to patch some games that don't work right out of the box.

    [​IMG]
    Some recommendations:
    1. See if your game has Intro and remove it first.*
    2. If you're going to play any Pokémon game do a Clock Fix.
    3. Apply SRAM if possible.
    4. Optionally trim it.
    5. Avoid other patches.

    When you load game from YSMenu it will need to format SRAM, say yes and don't worry it's safe to do it.
    YSMenu will create a .sav file, play and save.
    In order to write SRAM into .sav file you need to turn off and on your DS,
    YSMenu will do it automatically but it must be default firmware.

    Compatibility seems to be the same only cons are:
    I can't find a way to load previous .sav files.
    SC Software won't help you saving time with patching process.

    I haven't tried GBA Union but i believe it's possible, anyway few games use it.

    Tested and working (All games are US version):
    Advance Wars SRAM Patch Required
    Castlevania - Aria Of Sorrow
    F-Zero - Maximum Velocity
    Golden Sun SRAM Patch Required
    Harvest Moon - Friends Of Mineral Town
    Kingdom Hearts - Chain Of Memories
    Pokémon Advance - Sapphire Intro+Clock Fix+SRAM Patch Required
    Street Fighter - Alpha 3 SRAM Patch Required
    The Legend Of Zelda - The Minish Cap SRAM Patch Required

    Let me know if you're able to load .sav files other than those created by YSMenu.

    *Use an emulator or DS because GBA Tool Advance doesn't detect it right, though it will remove it properly
     

Share This Page