Blue screen after overclock to 3.8Ghz

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by pmk010, Oct 9, 2012.

Oct 9, 2012
  1. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Gigabyte Z77 D3H motherboard. Itel core i7 2600K proccessor which I have overclocked to 3.7Ghz stablely. Then as normal I went to 3.8 and that is when about 4 minutes in the screen froze and then turned blue displaying something about a memory dump. I tried increasing voltage but it didn't work. The temps were fine from what I could see and online most could overclock to at least 4Ghz before any problems. I have an arctic 7 pro rev 2 cpu cooler.

    Can someone help me. It is my first time overclocking.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    C:\Windows\Minidump\
    Find the latest file there, upload it to some file host (like mediafire.com), and give us the link. Seeing the details of the crash can help pinpoint what's gone too far or is set too low.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How did you overclock it? What multiplier, voltage and temperatures did you see?
     
  4. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I used the BIOS to overclock it. The multiplier was at 38 and the temperatures where aroung 35 at idle and when running prime95 they were at around 55. The volatge was at the factory set voltage, I tried increasing it to 1.220 and then even 1.350 with no avail.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the dump confirms it's some core/CPU issue.
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Temps seem fine and you don't need to increase the voltage much for an OC under 4GHz. Sounds like either something is being picky with the BIOS or a flaw within the CPU.

    I don't have enough OC experience to help beyond that without having the system in front of me (I rely on intuition).
     
  8. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you suggest I do? Should I send it to intel and ask them to find the problem or is there another option?
     
  9. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    As far as Intel are concerned if it runs at stock speeds then it is fine. Some chips just won't over-clock, it is the luck of the game.
    One thing to check is make sure the base clock is set to 100.
     
  10. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, checked the base clock, all fine. I suppose I should be happy with 3.7. I only use it for gaming and general tasks :(
     
  11. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    See if this helps http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2011/01/07/how-to-overclock-the-intel-core-i5-2500k/4 but you are probably stuck with 3.7.
     
  12. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will try it tommorow. After a quick reads it mentions something I found on another forum but didn't try which is to put the BCLK over 100mhz. Will try that as well. Thanks, hope it works :)
     

Share This Page