Blue gateway card rxtools cant open _dsmenu.dat

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Pa0ap, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Hello guys!

    I really go crazy I cant fix this. normally the whitelist patch should be enough to make the blue gateway card run again.

    I have a 2DS running 9.2 sysnand and 10.5 emunand. I use the last version of rxtools FW. I try all TWL patches and also the new launcher.

    Always it tells me cant open _dsmenu.dat when I try to boot up the blue gateway card. I try sysnand , RX sysnand and rx emunand. always the same. What could be wrong? in devmenu there is not much installed? should I see the whitelistpatch there?

    Help is really appreciated! Thanks
     
  2. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Any Idea?
     
  3. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,079
    596
    May 16, 2011
    United States
    Did you check the microSD of the blue card? _dsmenu.dat would be a file that is needed on the blue card itself. If you are getting that error, it sounds like the 3DS is letting you run the card just fine, but the card itself isn't working.
     
  4. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Ok. I will try. Its weird because I used this card with my N3DS sold the N3DS and leave it in the box for 10 month. Haven't done anything with the card. Its full of games and rdy to go.
     
  5. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    I did format the SD Card again and put firmware and data back on the card. still the same. I also tried different firmwares... nothing. So weird.
     
  6. gunner007

    gunner007 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,506
    368
    Dec 31, 2013
    United States
    Is it FAT32 formatted? Also I seem to remember the blue card having issue with large SD
     
  7. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    I formatted Fat32 and it's a 16gb sd card. It shouldn't be to big. Also this card was running without any trouble in my n3ds before.
     
  8. gunner007

    gunner007 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,506
    368
    Dec 31, 2013
    United States
    It could be the SD slot on the card may be shot. if you have an _RPG folder, _dsmenu.dat on the root of the microSD, that's all you need to make it work.
     
  9. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    That is really weird because I can see the icon so the card is loaded but it wont start. I put the roms in folders, maybe that is what make the card not working properly? I really have no Idea what I did wrong...
     
  10. gunner007

    gunner007 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,506
    368
    Dec 31, 2013
    United States
    You didn't. For a test all I put was the _DSmenu.dat and the _RPG folder from the GW zip file onto my blue card. Pop blue card into 3DS and launched it fine. (obviously no games were there) but you do get the DS menu.

    The card icon is just the firmware of the card which is on-chip.

    Do you have another DS/2DS/3DS you can test it in? My guess is the SD slot is bad on the blue card. (especially if all you ever get is the _DSMENU.DAT not found and you have it on the root.
     
  11. Pa0ap
    OP

    Pa0ap Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Feb 17, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Thanks for your support! I guess without any input I would have given up. I format again! this time not the fast format put the firmware pack and its working now! Also cleaned the 2DS slot but it didn't work after it I guess the slow format did the magic. *happy*