Black Bars on the side?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by moonknight, May 26, 2009.

May 26, 2009

Black Bars on the side? by moonknight at 3:26 PM (3,223 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. moonknight
    OP

    Newcomer moonknight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Canada
    I downloaded the game The_House_of_the_Dead_OVERKILL_USA_Wii-PROMiNENT, and as the title states it is the USA version. So my question is: Why does it have the black bars on the sides? When I say black bars I mean like... it's not completely covering my screen, the sides are missing.. I'm having the same problem with Mad World as well.. Does anybody know why? Thanks in advanced.
     


  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    1. PAL Wii, compontent cables, 16:9 hdtv?

    2. Do you use a loader or the disc channel?

    3. Is your Wiis set to 480p?

    4. Is your Wii set to 4:3 or 16:9?
     
  3. moonknight
    OP

    Newcomer moonknight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Canada
    1. NTSC, No components, yes 16:9 hdtv

    2. I tried both USB Loader and I burnt on a disc

    3. No component cables, so only 480i

    4. Wii is set to 16:9

    Is it because the game is labelled incorrectly?? I shouldn't be having this probably if it was USA version. Anybody else tried this game or Mad World?
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Well maybe that issue is some general homebrew issue. I'm trying to figure out why it happens to you. I have some other guy with a PAL Wii and compent cables to his 16:9 that has the same issue. Could you set your Wii to 4:3 and see if that changes anything AFTER the game is started? And if the ratio is correct even when set wrong?
     
  5. moonknight
    OP

    Newcomer moonknight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a modchip, so when I burnt the disc I'm not using any homebrew to play it. I just tried setting my Wii to 4:3.. the menu buttons got a lot bigger and wider.. I don't think that's normal. But the game still has the same problem, with the black bars on the sides.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for testing. But i still have no idea what's causing this.
     
  7. moonknight
    OP

    Newcomer moonknight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it possible that's the game?? Maybe it's not USA like it's stated. Do think you can download it and try?
     
  8. micric100

    Member micric100 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    Canada
    no, this happens to me on some NTSC and PAL games, i don't know why, i have an NTSC wii with component and 16-9, but it only happens on some games, I havent been able to figure out the problem, if anyone does, please post.

    i havent gotten house of dead yet, but when I do, I will try.
     
  9. kylsav

    Member kylsav GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    This is a game problem not a loader problem.

    A unhacked wii playing an original copy will have this issue. it isn't related to any USB or backup loader. only thing to do is to enjoy the game with the bars or complain to whoever made the game. [​IMG]

    it seems to always be 3rd party developers that have this problem, not Nintendo made games.
     
  10. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    I'm playing madworld PAL on a NTSC wii if it matters to anybody and it has black borders all-the-way around it. I can play it a bit smaller and it doesn't really affect game play.

    punchout PAL on NTSC wii without blackness...
    http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/1402/picture5w.jpg

    wadworld PAL on same NTSC wii...
    http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/6283/picture18uqh.jpg
    There's about 1 inch difference if you look at the top of my TV.

    I think it's all up to the game makers about this, but I could be wrong here.
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Could somebody confirm that this only happens on 16:9 hdtvs? I'm thinking that it might be that the games run in a reduced resolution, and the tvs don't scale it up to full screen. Maybe changing some settings at the tv helps. Something like the games show 640x480 instead of the 720x480 they should be running at(just a theory).
     
  12. mydarxide

    Newcomer mydarxide Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Not exactly true, Mario Party 8 does this too. Original Disc and unmodded wii. it is the developers fault too dam lazy to make the game compatible with widescreens. BASTARDS!!
     
  13. innercy

    Member innercy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    nope. i'm using 4:3 and same as previous poster, some games have a side black border. it got nothing to do with loader cus i'm using a dvd with direct load from disc channel. btw my tv support 480p.
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You you have a 4:3 LCD by chance? If yes, please try some settings at your tv.
     
  15. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    I Have a Sharp Aquos, 52" HD LCDTV. I can confirm 100% that House of the Dead: OVERKILL does produce black bars on either side of the screen when playing this game. Also, Madworld is a similar issue, but a bit different; When loading the game, all of the intro screens, health warnings and animations, they are all appearing with black bars on the side... However when I'm at the main menu or in the actual game, everything is displaying perfectly in fullscreen on widescreen.

    My TV automatically scales between video settings and displays when it switches between 480i and 480p. I believe that Madworld is displaying @ 480i while HotD and almost every other game plays at 480p. My suggestion is its the ISO's themselves, but have yet to confirm anything

    Console, TV and Games are all NTSC. Wii is connected via Component cables.
     
  16. kylsav

    Member kylsav GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    sry for that, mario party is one game i don't got [​IMG]

    i have a NTSC wii with system menu 4.0 of course its soft modded but i have the original disks for Madworld and Overkill, and both have the black bars.

    I know madworld is in 480i (saw an article on joystiq.com) but idk about Overkill. but that could be the problem.
     
  17. ddrrmm

    Member ddrrmm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    im having the same "problem"

    52" LCD tv, running 480p, some games have black borders wether its pal or ntsc.
    To say the least, its annoying.
     
  18. micric100

    Member micric100 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    Canada
    I think some games are just developed that way and scale badly, and some are because of the PAL on NTSC wii or other way around, and some are because of the loader, but i'm just guessing. I have a feeling though that either way, even if this is the developers fault, this could be fixed for all games if some sort of patch was made, or if it was coded to fix it in the loader, but i'm not a coder so i don't know if this is actually possible. Do any coders know if this could be fixed somehow?
     
  19. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I think it's half the developers fault, half the tvs. It's only a part of the hdtv people having this problem, i'm sure the tvs of the others just scale the image up to fill the screen.
     
  20. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    In all games, when my tv an wii is set to 16;9, i get about 1 inch black border around the whole screen too.

    I think you are right WiiPower, it is part the developers fault, and part the tvs fault.

    Some games are better scaled than others though, particularly first party games.

    This problem seems to exist in homebrew aswell.
     

Share This Page