Best Dreamcast emulator for these settings?

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by BoxmanWTF, Jan 18, 2012.

Jan 18, 2012
  1. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    My Dreamcast is dead, and I really want to play Powerstone 2 again. But in a lot of the emulators I use, they all seem to look like crap on the loading screen and have no text.
    Does anyone know a good DC emulator for someone with these specs?
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    I'm getting a better computer in november, but for now I really want to at least play some of my old DC games...
     
  2. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    Your computer isn't complete shite. Its processor is a bit out dated, but you could probably get an acceptable emulation experience out of it. The only killer is your lack of graphics card, I think--you have an onboard chipset it looks like. Those aren't really helpful for 3D elements, or any graphically-taxing things your computer has to put up with. It's probably the root of your shoddy emulation. But then again, I didn't see many good emulators the last time I looked around... but I didn't look very hard either :P

    Most people seem to just buy a new cheap one and burn some back-ups on it.
     
  3. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    :|
    well thanks...maybe I can try and find a cheap graphics card, anythings better than this PoS chipset
     
  4. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    A crappy PC???? Your config is pretty great IMO (I only have dual core cpu at home, I'm not a PC gamer ^^)

    But I remember playing most DC games full speed with my core duo + 1GB ram and radeon x1400.

    I think the only problem with your config is the GPU (gma X3100 it's very weak), you might want to try to update the drivers, then the three emu I'll recommend:

    -Chankast (old and unsupported but most games works fine).
    -NullDC (still pretty much supported, try to play around with the graphic plugins).
    -Makaron (same as Nulldc I think the author still work on it, same suggestion as nulldc, mess with the graphic plugin.).
     
  5. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    The demul is great emulator and it is a Russian developer. Makaron is not bad but you have to mess with the graphic plugin. I usually have two emulators.. Demul and Makaron. A demul is more friendly and is very active and higher compabilities than Makaron. Demul can emulated:

    Sega Model 3
    Naomi and Naomi2
    Dreamcast
    Atomiswave
     
  6. Maverick Lunar X

    Member Maverick Lunar X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    what exactly is wrong with your dreamcast? I thought mine died a few years back, turns out theres a card that came loose on the inside
     
  7. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    The insides are melted D:
     
  8. Maverick Lunar X

    Member Maverick Lunar X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, probably cant fix that. even still, id just buy another one. picked mine up for $30, much easier to burn the backups than trying to emulate.
     
  9. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have 2 dreamcasts just for backup purposes :)
     
  10. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    the sad part is, I can't find a dreamcast here, but I've seen two places selling mega drives, and saturns
     

Share This Page