Beginner Luma3DS questions

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by drmarvin, Aug 22, 2018.

1. drmarvin
    OP

drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

Jan 2, 2009
    Canada
    Canada
    Hello 3DS experts. I have no experience with any DS products, but I have experience with modding in general.

I enjoy the portable nature of the 3DS. Nicely smaller than my Switch, plus something new to play with. I’m looking to buy a used system and I’m hoping to install a CFW like Luma3DS. It looks like I may need a legit game (kind of like WiiU), but I’m not sure.

Any possible suggestions of a maximum firmware to buy, game which should be bought (if necessary), and anything else to watch for would be great.

Thanks in advance.

2. Lilith Valentine

Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolf-husky™ Embrace yourself

Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Many moons away
    Honestly it doesn't matter what OFW you get your 3DS on because there are methods that aren't effected by them.
    If you are looking for a free method, then you need to be aiming for anything 11.3 and below. (currently) I suggest checking out The Guide for more information.
    But if you happen to get on above 11.3, then you just need to use one of these methods to hack it
    NTRBoot: I always suggest this method because you get an easy method that can be used over and over, plus a DS flashcart for DS games.
    seedminer: An easy and cheap method that still currently works on 11.8 and requires buying a DSiware game. Does run the risk of being patched, but hasn't happened yet.
    DSiware: Requires another already hacked system and buying a DSiware game. Can't be patched through OFW updates.
    Hardmod: Requires soldering and some extra parts. Best method if you know what you are doing and can't be patched.

NFates, zacchi4k and Hunter like this.
  3. drmarvin
    OP

drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

Jan 2, 2009
    Canada
    Canada