BEEN AWAY FOR AWHILE

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by buckweed187, Dec 5, 2009.

Dec 5, 2009

BEEN AWAY FOR AWHILE by buckweed187 at 11:58 AM (1,467 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. buckweed187
    OP

    Newcomer buckweed187 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi i have been away for a while and i have left my ds to collect dust next to my tv,due to
    a,breaking my ds lite

    b,getting a hacked psp.

    but i knew i would be back soon once zelda came out,so i grabbed my girlfriends old ds and slapped my R4 in

    but i got a data system error message on the loading screen.... so i thought some how i killed it.

    it has been sat on my tv for a while so possible over heated maybe... so thats my problem...

    to top this i have just ordered a new R4 (upgrade) with a 8gb card for a friends kid (came today)

    i got it from WWW.R4i.co.uk (where i have got all my cards from in the past with no problems..

    but this time i had a Transcend sd card normally i get a sandisk...

    would this cause a problems ?

    lastly i have downloaded the lastest firmware from the site (has i have a hundred times)
    but its not working (stuck on loading screen)

    so please can some help me to get the right firmware for my card?

    (R4-SDHC Upgrade Revolutio for DS (NDSL/NDS) link site (WWW.R4i-SDHC.COM

    or link me to ysmenus to chang to that (from what i read its the way forward for clones)

    and tell me if i have killed my old flash card or is it repairible ?

    could i have bricked my girlfriends ds im pretty sure it worked on the old ds before?

    i have a desktop of different kernels to try but its pointless it my R4 or ds is dead ???

    PLEASE HELP!!!!
     
  2. Magoo222

    Member Magoo222 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does the DS turn on if there is no cartridge inserted? Or do you have a legit game to test it with? If it boots up fine without the R4, but still fails with it, I'd suggest trying to back up and then format the memory card to see if that helps.

    Guide to YSMenu is here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=164359

    Also, I just found this sticky in the R4 section, not sure if it helps with your problem, but it might be worth a read: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=116065
     
  3. buckweed187
    OP

    Newcomer buckweed187 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for reply man,the DS works fine with no game and it runs gba carts fine. (no nds game to try)

    i will read the links you post in a second,but i just read that my clone wouldn't run YSMENUS so i guess thats a dead end..

    will report back if i cant find answer....thanks for your help tho.


    also i have saved my games and wiped the sd card clean i'm formatting it everytime i try a new firmware...

    which is why its taking so long i'm just trying firmware and added a ROMs file with one nds.file to try.

    so far sticks on "LOADING or system error and i had the card pic on one... why are there so many [​IMG]
     
  4. buckweed187
    OP

    Newcomer buckweed187 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Read both link before i posted,this is why i think YSMenus won't work on my card.

    guess i will have to keep trying every possible firmware i can...
     
  5. buckweed187
    OP

    Newcomer buckweed187 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK this is driving me mad,

    What am i doning wrong here ?

    This what the box says:-

    R4 SDHC Upgrade.

    i have a 8GB Sandisk SD card

    I got the lastest firmware from here http://www.r4i-sdhc.com/downloade.asp

    used the one on the left..

    once unpacked i get:-

    moonshl2
    R4iMenu
    R4.dat

    i add ROMS file to root.

    I'm sure these thing unpacked more files last time i did this....


    boot up ds and the shows

    WWW.r4i-sdhc.com (in green)

    LOADING.. (in orange)

    system data error! Please check NDS system date. (in red)

    ds freezes..

    hope this help i can't understand it
     
  6. buckweed187
    OP

    Newcomer buckweed187 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problem fixed now it was the date on the DS was wrong

    (girlfriend must of been doing the animal crossing cheat....)
     

Share This Page