bare minimum for usb loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nikeymikey, May 9, 2010.

May 9, 2010

bare minimum for usb loading by nikeymikey at 4:14 PM (1,168 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. nikeymikey
    OP

    Member nikeymikey Waiting for SALT to rescue the Wii U Scene!!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a friend whose mrs will not agree to modding their wii, she is scared that something will go wrong if its modded. However she is quite happy for me to take my wii, hdd etc to their house and play all my games. This is annoying, having to pack up all my stuff every time we have a wii party.

    Basically what i am wondering is....What would be the bare minimum i would need to do to their wii to enable usb loading? That way i would only have to take my hard drive which is much easier.

    I know id need to install 1 or 2 cIOS which would be permanant, and i know id need to have a loader on their sd card.

    I just wanna install as little as possible on their wii.
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cIOS 249 and the USB loader app.
    Why not install Bootmii IOS and use SNEEK?
    You can tell her how safe it is.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The minimum is a cIOS only.
    But before that, you need at least 1 Trucha patched IOS or the cIOS won't install.

    I guess the best thing for you to do is to use bannerbomb to load DOP-Mii and install a patched IOS36. Then run cIOS installer.

    Still, I'd install the HBC as that has a brick chance of 0.00000000000000000000001% [​IMG] (and it's easy to remove)
     
  4. nikeymikey
    OP

    Member nikeymikey Waiting for SALT to rescue the Wii U Scene!!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So basically i can use bannerbomb to launch the cios installer, i would install hermes 222/3 cos i use fat32 on my hdd, and then use banner bomb to launch the loader, NO homebrew channel needed? I know id have to use their pc to rename the dols for use with bannerbomb.

    Edit: cheers tj for the trucha bug reminder. It is a new wii Xmas 09 will that make a difference?

    So on the sd I'd need: bannerbomb, dop ios, cios installer and a loader. Just have to swap dols between each step.
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It depends mostly on what system menu version they have.
    • 3.2/Lower: You can simply run the cIOS installer with bannerbomb.
    • 3.3 - 4.1: Restore Trucha in IOS36, run cIOS Installer
    • 4.2: Restore Trucha, remove Stubs, run cIOS Installer
     
  6. nikeymikey
    OP

    Member nikeymikey Waiting for SALT to rescue the Wii U Scene!!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure that it's 4.2.

    Cheers for the help, I'm gonna try it this afternoon.
     
  7. rmbell

    Newcomer rmbell Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Canada
    They don't even need a loader, just a cios. Install a forwarder channel for the loader, and just place the loader on your hdd under usb:/apps/whatever
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    But consider the imho greatest danger:

    If there is or was homebrew on the wii nintendo practically refuses all repairs, paid and warranty
     
  9. nikeymikey
    OP

    Member nikeymikey Waiting for SALT to rescue the Wii U Scene!!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It works fine......... While i was at their house today, she went out for a while so i slipped in my memory card, restored the trucha bug to ios 36, removed the stubs and installed cios 222 and 223. Then i ran the loader from bannerbomb and hey presto it worked.

    When she came home me and her hubby just said it was a new type of mod that doesnt require you to install anything to the wii, it all works from the memory card. [​IMG]
     
  10. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not install Bootmii and SNEEK as well?
    And use some Bootmii loader to reboot into SNEEK from Bannerbomb?
     

Share This Page