Bad ROM?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Soup4Thought, May 5, 2012.

May 5, 2012

Bad ROM? by Soup4Thought at 1:31 PM (938 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Soup4Thought
    OP

    Newcomer Soup4Thought Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    I recently purchased an Acekard 2i, and the first game downloaded for it was Phoenix Wright. So I played for awhile, then saved (legitimately, from the game), and now the game won't load past the white screen.

    Is this because it's just a bad ROM or something?
     
  2. Dust2dust

    Member Dust2dust GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    no-intro and advanscene have complete databases allowing you to check the CRCs of your roms, if you think they might be bad. If your rom's CRC match their databases, your rom is good. Also, be sure to use the latest AKAIO.
     
  3. Soup4Thought
    OP

    Newcomer Soup4Thought Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using 1.8.9 currently, which I think is the latest.

    How do I check the ROM's CRC?
     
  4. Dust2dust

    Member Dust2dust GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    Most simple way, if you don't have a dedicated checker, is to compress the rom in Winrar or Winzip (or something similar) and check under the CRC column. Then, compare with the rom entry on advanscene or no-intro's website. No-intro is better, as they are practically anal about having the purest form of the rom listed.
     
  5. Soup4Thought
    OP

    Newcomer Soup4Thought Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    I hate to sound so noob-ish, but where do I go to check them? Dx
     
  6. Dust2dust

    Member Dust2dust GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm guessing this is allowed, as they are not rom sites:

    http://www.advanscene.com/

    http://www.no-intro.org/ (check the dat-o-matic)
     
  7. Soup4Thought
    OP

    Newcomer Soup4Thought Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Even with the good ROM, it's still not loading past the white screen. :\ Could it be the card itself?
     
  8. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
  9. Dust2dust

    Member Dust2dust GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe a clone? But try some troubleshooting first (reformatting the microsd with Panasonic SD formatter, or try a different microsd altogether). Good luck!
     
  10. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,326
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like a bad ROM. Does any other game load? If so, then try re-dumping the game.
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes my AK2i will sporadically corrupt games.
    Just... ahh... "redump" your game.
     
  12. Soup4Thought
    OP

    Newcomer Soup4Thought Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    I reformatted it and it's working like a charm. Thanks a lot, guys. :D
     

Share This Page