Backup games keep freezing...

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by JFTS, Apr 1, 2013.

Apr 1, 2013

Backup games keep freezing... by JFTS at 6:29 PM (2,649 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    So, I'm on Kmeaw's 3.55 firmware and I never had a problem with backup games until now. It's normal I guess from time to time for the console to freeze and require reset (especially with my old fat model). However two specific games, Journey and Resonance of Fate, keep freezing to the point of being unplayable.

    The first one does so after a specific point in the game which doesn't load the saved game from the menu. If I start a new game, it plays normally up until to the point it freezes again.

    Resonance of Fate on the other hand seems to freeze after a certain period of playing (around 40 minutes I'd say), but it is random and it doesn't seem to have a reason like overheating, disc issues etc.

    Why is that happening? Keep in mind that both games have been installed with their EBOOT fixes. Is it something general I must look at or it has specifically to do with these titles?
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, update your CFW to the latest and use original Eboot. It is possible that Eboot fix has introduced problems.

    Also, try alternating between internal and external loading.
     
  3. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    I've been thinking about updating to Rogero 4.31 recently. You think that would solve some general problems with compatibility?
     
  4. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    At the very least, you can use original Eboot without resigning games. Some new games do ask for files that only new firmware has, so resigning doesn't work on them anyway. Rogero now has 4.40 out. There is no reason to stick with 3.55.
     
  5. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure the backups are good rips? If updating your CFW doesn't help try reripping (or downloading from another source).
     
  6. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    Sorry for the late replay. I'm very busy this time.:unsure:

    I think there's a general problem with my PS3. The last games I bought, Bioshock Infinite and Metal Gear Rising backuped fine. Infinite seems to run better but keeps freezing far more frequently than before; MG Rising plays for like 5 minutes and then the console crashes. The same happens to older games that run fine before, like Red Dead Redemption and the original Bioshock. I noticed it happens usually on bigger games, but sometimes happens on other programs like the SNES emulator.

    Why is that? Can it be what trumpet-205 said about EBOOT fixes creating problems or it's a hardware problem with my console? It just seems it freezes on anything.:(

    I'm about to upgrade my console to rogero CFW. Do I lose any data in the process?
     
  7. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    No you will not lose data.Its just an upgrade.
     
  8. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
  9. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    Yeah, but what about the freezing? Will this upgrade prevent the console from doing that?

    I have the old fat PS3. I friend of mine told me that many fat PS3s freeze after some time, due to overheating problems? Is that true? And if it is, what do I need to repair?
     
  10. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I don't think changing your CFW will solve the freezing issue.

    As you said, you're probably looking at a hardware issue, either HDD or overheating.

    But it might be worth it to upgrade to Rebug 4.41.2 and use original eboots first just to rule this out. If it still freezes after that, I would run a long/short DST on the HDD to see if it passes, if it does pass, then it would be an overheating issue and you would have to replace your thermal paste. You can check the CPU/RSX temperature inside Rebug Toolbox or mM.
     
    JFTS likes this.
  11. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for all the info!

    The HDD is almost new; I changed it last year, so I think it has to do with overheating (since games that run before fine, now freeze). How exactly can I check the temperatures? I'm using Multiman Manager.
     
  12. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Show Temperature Data under Settings.
     
  13. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    Can't find the Temperature Data option. I'm using Multiman version 4.02. Is it because it's outdated?
     
  14. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Might be, update to the latest version:
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/i4idgq
     
  15. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    OK. I installed the new Multiman and checked the temperature. It says 79 Celsius for CPU and 75 Celsius for RSX. I don't know how much is this in Fahrenheit, but I guess it's pretty hot for the system, right?
     
  16. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It looks like your RSX is getting hot, it's normal for the CPU to get to that temperature, especially on a FAT. My CPU is always +/-80, but my RSX is 57.
     
  17. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    So in conclusion, should I have my PS3 repaired? I think a general service would make the system run better.
     
  18. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I would have it cleaned and have the thermal paste replaced.
     
    JFTS likes this.
  19. JFTS
    OP

    Member JFTS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    France
    Thanks a lot for your quick answers! I really appreciate it.:yayps3:
     
    mschumacher69 likes this.

Share This Page