Backing up drivers?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Harsky, Jun 17, 2007.

Jun 17, 2007

Backing up drivers? by Harsky at 10:13 PM (967 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I recently came across a 40gb laptop HDD. Not much I can do with it considering my current laptop has 160gb HDD. Then I remembered my sister has a laptop... but with only 20gb space on it. Being the nice sibling, I agreed to give her the 40gb one. Unfortunately, her laptop is fairly old and my attempt to find video/sound drivers for it is fruitless so I figured I might as well try and transfer her old HDD to the new HDD. What is the best way to do this?
     
  2. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    You need to clone it, and I couldn't tell you how to do it with a laptop
     
  3. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need to put the new HD in the media bay of the laptop if you're gonna clone it like fischju.
     
  4. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an enclosure for a laptop HDD which can be plugged into a USB. Can that work?
     
  5. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    If you're lucky. I've booted an OS from a USB drive before but it doesn't work on every computer.
     
  6. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    Windows XP might work without drivers. The drivers on the disk should be enough
     
  7. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think the laptop is so old that we lost the cds. Anyways it's a Toshiba Satellite M10
     
  8. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    Just get an XP Pro Corporate torrent
     
  9. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's different about it?
     
  10. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    No activation, no serials. Has Service Pack 2. Should have enough drivers on the disk to make the laptop run fine.
     
  11. Qith

    Member Qith GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Or, you could just copy the contents of you sister's 20GB HDD to your own 160GB one using the enclosure, swap the 20GB one with the 40GB one and then copy everyting on to that one. I've done this before, it almost always works (sometimes it will screw with your file permissions if you use NTFS, that sucks).
    Even so, it probably is better to use a clean install using said Windows XP Pro Corporate, simply because it's sweet to have a clean install and, as fischju indicated, it probably doesn't need any manual driver updates. After you've installed, you could just copy any data you might need from the 20GB HDD to the new one using your handy enclosure (those things come in very handy when repairing laptops, you should cherish it!).
     

Share This Page