1. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    You will need Python 3 for this, it has a batch file for automatically creating Sig patches for Atmosphere - you well need to mod this depending on where you installed python.

    Also you will need the bitstring module installed if you don't have it - install it with pip.
    Code:
    pip install bitstring
    
    It's simple to use - just put fusee-secondary.bin in the folder with the python file and click on MakeIPS.bat, after a few seconds - you should have a working ips file + info for making Patches.ini

    I changed the patches from what you are used to - but they do the same thing, tested launching homebrew and installed games - with no issues. only 1 byte is modded in the loader, so you shouldn't get any issues.

    Have fun.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by mrdude, Sep 21, 2020
    bao3, alba93, Modificatorul and 31 others like this.
  2. peteruk

    peteruk GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is awesome, thank you mrdude - things just keep getting better and better
     
  3. LyuboA

    LyuboA GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    lol thats great thanks man wonder why no one has ever done that
     
    Last edited by LyuboA, Sep 21, 2020
    baileyscream likes this.
  4. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,150
    Country:
    Mexico
    Has this been tested already?
    I'm curious about how the IPS and patches.ini we currently have differ from the current sigpatches pack to the data this app outputs.
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  5. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,976
    Country:
    Sweden
    Just to make sure, it's for Atmosphere only and not Hekate?
     
    Tyvar1, mathew77 and ShadowOne333 like this.
  6. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    It writes an ips patch for atmosphere automatically + also tells you what to add to Patches.ini if you are using hekate.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Read the python files to see how they work - the Loader that Atmoshere uses is patched on the fly, I reversed Atmoshphere loader and looked at where to patch, I changed the patch location from the current patches so that I couldn't be accused of 'stealing' other peoples patches - they work the same way though. If you are really interested - decompile an unpacked loader in ida pro and check what I am patching. At the end of the day - it will either work for you or it won't, I tried it on recent versions of Atmosphere and it worked fine for me.
     
    Tyvar1, lordelan, susi91 and 4 others like this.
  7. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,976
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh nice so a two in one. Awesome work!
     
    Modificatorul, LyuboA, Tyvar1 and 2 others like this.
  8. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,081
    Country:
    Portugal
    Good work. Is it for Windows only or macOS as well ?
     
  9. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    It's for Windows - it uses hactool as well as python. If you have a hactool version that works on your MAC and Python3 installed, you could mod the batch file to whatever the mac uses to run scripts - otherwise use Windows.
     
  10. cherryduck

    cherryduck GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Doesn't work for me. The hactool command warns me that prod.keys doesn't exist, and the Findbyte command outputs ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'bitstring'
     
  11. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    You will need to use Python3 - and install any missing modules with pip - do you know how to use python? Also you don't need prod.keys - you can ignore that.

    This is the output for Patches.ini - no need to make ips patch as that is done automatically.
    [​IMG]
     
    lordelan likes this.
  12. yyoossk

    yyoossk GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Japan
    success!
     
    Last edited by yyoossk, Sep 21, 2020
  13. cherryduck

    cherryduck GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Yeah I've got python installed. It would be useful to have a pre-requisites section with more clear instructions on what you need in place to use this. It works now I've installed the bitstring module.
     
    f0li0, _Roxas_ki and baileyscream like this.
  14. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    Just cd to your python/scripts directory - open a command prompt and type this:
    Code:
    pip install bitstring
    
    Also if people are unable or know how to install modules - surely it takes 2 minutes with google to figure this out? or maybe this program should just be left for those that know how to do it - others that don't can just wait until someone else posts these patches for them.
     
    Sparkss, peteruk and baileyscream like this.
  15. baileyscream

    baileyscream GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Its not hard to include these instructions in the op though is it.
    The ones you have posted are not complete if this needs to be done.

    Its great that you have made this to make it easer for everyone but how can ppl learn if steps are missing.
     
    Staark, f0li0, Tyvar1 and 3 others like this.
  16. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    Yep, now I'm beginning to wish I'd never posted it :-)
     
  17. baileyscream

    baileyscream GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Its early yet.
    Once the little snags are sorted you will start to see how appreciated everyone is.

    And to be honest if no one was impressed with this then you wouldn't get people asking questions and posting there success.

    Its a good tool mate you should be proud
     
    Tyvar1, mrdude, mathew77 and 2 others like this.
  18. cherryduck

    cherryduck GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    It's a good tool, thanks for creating it. I'm a developer by trade, and when releasing stuff we generally include pre-requisites and clear instructions. I get this isn't a job it's something you've done for free, can't complain there and can't hold you to the same standards...but making it a bit clearer at a glance is likely to lead to fewer posts like my own with people telling you it doesn't work when it does.
     
    _Roxas_ki and peteruk like this.
  19. mrdude

    OP mrdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    I wasn't really intending on creating a python program to be honest - I knocked this up in about 1/2 hour. I was just having a look at how ips patches worked and I was wondering what they patched. I was thinking maybe I would make a c# program to do it automatically. I just noticed the last few atmos patches were so similar and decided to check why. Anyway this was posted just as a POC to show it's pretty easy to make these patches. Although a proper coder/hacker would have a look at an uncompressed/decompiled file in IDA pro and take a look at previous (10.2,0 and below) versions, to see what the other patches do. Also note that when Atmsphere NX is modded in future - and the instruction this python script checks for - may be different and stop working, however it should still be relatively easy to update.

    Still maybe it will give someone an idea to make a better program - as I am not a python coder, I usually use C++ or C#.
     
    peteruk likes this.
  20. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,390
    Country:
    Poland
    So this way you are doing loader patch?

    And If I understand this correctly:

    fs and es patches are not for Atmosphere, but for fw. FS and ES are not reimplemented in Atmosphere.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - AutoIPS, Patcher,