Hacking arm9loader issues & related questions

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
I have installed cfw on 20+ 3ds systems now and this is the first time I've ever seen this issue and I cab find the answers to a few questions. 1) I down graded have all the required files but for some reason Te browser exploit to load the arm11.bin doesn't work. It glitches out the bottom screen... then stays there. For hours. So 1 is there a fix. 2) because the systems at 2.1.0-4u (o3ds system ) would upgrading it back to 11.2.0-35u cause a brick ? Considering I can't get into homebrew or arm9loader or hourglass I'm frustrated and been at this for 5 hours looking for answers please help.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,051
Country
Australia
I have installed cfw on 20+ 3ds systems now and this is the first time I've ever seen this issue and I cab find the answers to a few questions. 1) I down graded have all the required files but for some reason Te browser exploit to load the arm11.bin doesn't work. It glitches out the bottom screen... then stays there. For hours. So 1 is there a fix. 2) because the systems at 2.1.0-4u (o3ds system ) would upgrading it back to 11.2.0-35u cause a brick ? Considering I can't get into homebrew or arm9loader or hourglass I'm frustrated and been at this for 5 hours looking for answers please help.
1. Show us a picture of your SD card contents. You're probably missing files.
2. You can update an O3DS through System Settings if you like. But if you don't have a9lh installed then you'd have to start all over again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: x65943

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,032
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
877
Country
United States
I have installed cfw on 20+ 3ds systems now and this is the first time I've ever seen this issue and I cab find the answers to a few questions. 1) I down graded have all the required files but for some reason Te browser exploit to load the arm11.bin doesn't work. It glitches out the bottom screen... then stays there. For hours. So 1 is there a fix. 2) because the systems at 2.1.0-4u (o3ds system ) would upgrading it back to 11.2.0-35u cause a brick ? Considering I can't get into homebrew or arm9loader or hourglass I'm frustrated and been at this for 5 hours looking for answers please help.
Did you read the FAQ regarding the glitched bottom screen? It worked, you just have to press select to install a9lh and then any other button to reset.

Don't update the system. That is just going to cause more problems. For someone that has done 20+ systems you should at least know the basics.
 
  • Like
Reactions: x65943

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
I didn't know of this glitch because it never has come up with me doing it before and so I have read the forums about it this evening and I did that numerous times nothing hs happened not even the otp file I think it's called that's shows up in files folder it never appeared .
 

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,032
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
877
Country
United States
I didn't know of this glitch because it never has come up with me doing it before and so I have read the forums about it this evening and I did that numerous times nothing hs happened not even the otp file I think it's called that's shows up in files folder it never appeared .
It sounds like your arm11.bin is loading but the arm9.bin is causing the system to freeze. Try replacing the arm9.bin on the root of your sd card with a newly downloaded copy.

If the arm9.bin was loading correctly it should reset if you press anything other than select. Even if the bottom screen glitches out this is a good way to see if the program is running.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
I tried that but it was frozen it didn't do anything at one point had it on the glitches touch screen for 45 minutes every few minutes hit select the moment or two later a or b . Nothing . It just froze. And I'm wanting to completely start over but feel this system is a curse for me .
 

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
I'm trying to upload picture but it says error everytime . Also on black screen again no luck.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

view
 

offpir

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
61
Country
Belgium
all the files are correct in the following folders:

3ds
files9
a9lh

it's easy to miss something (happened to me a few times even when I did multiple systems)
 

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
all the files are correct in the following folders:

3ds
files9
a9lh

it's easy to miss something (happened to me a few times even when I did multiple systems)
So finally pass this part it was the wrong arm9 file but now in hourglass trying to restore and keep a9lh it gives me fail because of NANDmin file... any suggestions
 

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,032
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
877
Country
United States
So finally pass this part it was the wrong arm9 file but now in hourglass trying to restore and keep a9lh it gives me fail because of NANDmin file... any suggestions
Ha, I knew it was the arm9.bin. 20+ systems you say?

What error are you getting with the NANDmin.bin file? Does it say no valid file found? If that is the problem make sure the NANDmin.bin is in the files9 folder.

If personally have never used hourglass9 but I know decrypt9 looks for it in that folder.
 

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
how big is the NANDmin.bin file?
Dou you also have the sha file in the same place?

If the file is corrupt then you can
how big is the NANDmin.bin file?
Dou you also have the sha file in the same place?

If the file is corrupt then you can only restore using the 9.2.0 ctrtransfer process
https://3ds.guide/9.2.0-ctrtransfer.html

this is giving me issues saying that the file can't be used because it has been modified. I've never has this much issue mod ding anything before.
 

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
Probably a bad sd card... have you tested it before you started?
Yes it was a 4G that came with it and a 32gb we had purchased both work and both having issues with the 9.2ctr input. Trying a different computer shortly need to take a break for a bit.
 

skypkmn

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 6, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
33
Country
Canada
Well I want to take this moment to thank everyone who gave me tips direction and opinions I got the 3ds working updated and running a9lh so thank all of you again. This is by far one of the best sites to get help in and I'll be recommending this to all I know. Thanks again.

Sky
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat
General chit-chat
Help Users
    ChrisOwl @ ChrisOwl: Yeah I don't plan to play any online games so ... To be honest I only want to do this to be able...