Hacking ARM11 is destroying me

SHRMA

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
26
Country
Spain
Hi everyone:

I come to expose you a problem that is arising, a very common problem in the scene. I have read dozens of posts about this error. My head hurts from reading so many problems and so many solutions, but I didn't want to touch anything until I heard your verdict.

ARM11 error occurs especially when playing Bravely Default. Before reaching 35 hours of play, the game was perfect, but now it does not stop giving me that error. I do not know if it is a problem with the cia file (I have tried several cias), but it also arose when I installed this game through the FBI.

Here I leave you all the necessary information. If you see that something is missing, do not hesitate to ask me.

Thank you very much, I am somewhat bitter ...

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: undefined instruction
  • Fault status:
  • Current process: HikariTr (000400000000FC500)

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: data abort
  • Fault status: Translation - Page
  • Current process: HikariTr (000400000000FC500)

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: data abort
  • Fault status: Translation - Section
  • Current process: HikariTr (000400000000FC500)

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: data abort
  • Fault status: Permission - Page
  • Current process: FBI (00040000000F800100)

More info about my 3DS (11.3.0-45E):

Luma 3DS v10.2
Screen Brightness: 4
Splash: Off
Splash duration: 1
Pin lock: Off

(x) Show NAND or user string in System Settings

FBI v.2.6.0

Model Old 3DS (2011)


Thanks again
 
  • Like
Reactions: Julie_Pilgrim
D

Deleted User

Guest
These are all caused by bad and/or corrupt data, try re-installing the CIA, wiping your user data, and disabling cheats. Also, make sure you are using an unedited CIA and no LayeredFS.

— Posts automatically merged - NO DOUBLE POSTS OR YOU WILL DIE! —

BTW, are you sure your version isn't 11.13.0-45E?
 
Last edited by ,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,608
Trophies
2
XP
5,934
Country
Germany
These are all caused by bad and/or corrupt data, try re-installing the CIA, wiping your user data, and disabling cheats. Also, make sure you are using an unedited CIA and no LayeredFS.
:!: Reinstalling a CIA will overwrite the game save data :!:
This is not a good advise when not mentioning backing up saves with Checkpoint and/or JKSM.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
:!: Reinstalling a CIA will overwrite the game save data :!:
This is not a good advise when not mentioning backing up saves with Checkpoint and/or JKSM.
Yeah, he should back it up, I forgot to mention that. But he shouldn't immediately restore it, he might have corrupt user data.
 
Last edited by ,
  • Like
Reactions: SHRMA

SHRMA

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
26
Country
Spain
These are all caused by bad and/or corrupt data, try re-installing the CIA, wiping your user data, and disabling cheats. Also, make sure you are using an unedited CIA and no LayeredFS.

— Posts automatically merged - NO DOUBLE POSTS OR YOU WILL DIE! —

BTW, are you sure your version isn't 11.13.0-45E?

Yes, my 3DS is update at 11.13.0-45E.

:!: Reinstalling a CIA will overwrite the game save data :!:
This is not a good advise when not mentioning backing up saves with Checkpoint and/or JKSM.

Yes, I did a backup with Checkpoint. I'm a noob but I've read you all a lot during these days. Thanks! ^^

Yeah, he should back it up, I forgot to mention that. But he shouldn't immediately restore it, he might have corrupt user data.

Thank you very much for your answers.

I've been testing things with my 3DS. The ARM11 error not only appears with Bravely Default, but with all applications, both the original ones and those that come from the CFW. So the ARM11 bug is not uniquely circumscribed to Bravely Default.

Here you have one more error that happened to me:

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: undefined instruction
  • Fault status:
  • Current process: PLOG (0004001000022200)
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
Yes, my 3DS is update at 11.13.0-45E.



Yes, I did a backup with Checkpoint. I'm a noob but I've read you all a lot during these days. Thanks! ^^



Thank you very much for your answers.

I've been testing things with my 3DS. The ARM11 error not only appears with Bravely Default, but with all applications, both the original ones and those that come from the CFW. So the ARM11 bug is not uniquely circumscribed to Bravely Default.

Here you have one more error that happened to me:

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: undefined instruction
  • Fault status:
  • Current process: PLOG (0004001000022200)
It's better then you check your console SD card. Follow this advice from @TurdPooCharger:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/arm9-data-abort-crash-when-boot.575040/#post-9224637
 

SHRMA

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
26
Country
Spain
It's better then you check your console SD card. Follow this advice from @TurdPooCharger:

The ARM11 error appears even when I use my 3DS without SD. Anyway, I am going to try this.

Thanks!

EDIT:

The result was this, @fmkid:

Test finished without errors.
You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
Writing speed: 9.83 MByte/s
Reading speed: 64.7 MByte/s
H2testw v1.4

I followed that @TurdPooCharger said:

  1. Copy everything off the SD card to a computer.
  2. Quadruple reformat.
  3. Full Write + Verify the empty card in H2testw. Do not skip.

QUADRUPLE REFORMAT

Try the quadruple reformat technique on your 64 GB card in this order:
  1. SD Memory Card Formatter
  2. Windows File Explorer (if bigger than 32 GB, use NTFS)
  3. guiformat - FAT32 + 32 KB (32768)
    • If it doesn't allow reformatting, reformat in Windows File Explorer again before trying again with guiformat.
  4. MiniTool Partition Wizard (free edition)
    • :!: Do not install the Lavasoft Adaware Web Companion (bloatware). See this.
      • Format: FAT32
      • Cluster Size: 32 KB
      • Partition: Primary
      • Disk: MBR
    • MiniTool Partition Wizard Software Tutorial Guide
      1. Delete Partition (for both partitions)
      2. Initialize to MBR Disk -or- Convert GPT to MBR Disk (if it's in GPT Disk)
      3. Rebuild MBR
      4. Create a New Partition [ Create as: Primary | File System: FAT32 | Cluster Size: 32 KB ]
A badly reformatted or even fake card can cause your computer to freeze or stall trying to read & write to it. You will still need to get one clean scan run with H2testw to know whether or not your card has hardware problems. If the test can't be completed, try the test on a different computer.


What's next? Thank you very much!
 
Last edited by SHRMA,

SHRMA

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
26
Country
Spain
To be clear, does that mean you are running the game from a cart?

Yes, I am running the game from a SD. What I meant to say is that the ARM11 error does not appear only with Bravely Default but with all applications even if the SD card is not inserted in the console. That is, even though my 3DS is "empty", the ARM11 error still occurs randomly and when it "wants". I can use my 3DS for hours or for only a few minutes until "Mr. ARM11" appears. It's random.

@SHRMA, since your SD card passed in H2testw, continue debugging the Nintendo 3DS folder by following Path (A).
  • Ultra sun game crashing "an Error Occured". [post #24]

Ok, thanks.
I'm a newbie, so I'm going to ask you some questions:

1. Do I have to follow this step even if the ARM11 error is not caused by Bravely Default? I mean, the game is contingent, what I would like is the ARM11 error to go away. Forgive my ignorance.

IGNORE THIS 2. In which folder do I put the .3dsx files?

3. Wouldn't it be better to start with a starter kit?



EDIT:

I follow Path (A) but after Step 9(A) this message appeared:

As/title.../content/00000000.app
Verification failed

(<A> to continue)

I pressed (A), then it appeared:

Exception: Undefined (1)
GodMode9 v1.9.2pre1
2020-10-20 15:11:32

R00: 00000001 | R01: 20119340
R02: 00020000 | R03: 00000000
R04: 20000000 | R05: 20000020
R06: 00000000 | R07: 00000000
R08: 00000001 | R09: 01FFB6B0
R10: 0003BEEF | R11: 00000000
R12: 00000000 | R13: 227EE950
R14: 080390B5 | R15: 0802000C
CPSR: 200000DF

Stack:
227EE950: 00 00 7E 22 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
227EE960: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
227EE970: 00 00 00 00 00 00 38 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
227EE980: 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 20 00 00 00
227EE990: 00 00 00 00 00 02 03 08 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF
227EE9A0: 08 00 FF FF 00 00 FF FF 00 00 FF FF 08 00 FF FF
227EE9B0: 00 20 FF FF 02 00 FF FF 00 00 FF FF 00 A8 FF FF
227EE9C0: 80 00 FF FF 10 80 FF FF 00 02 FF FF 80 00 FF FF

Code:
0801FFF0: 5C8A08DA 43992107 2301410A D06B421A
08020000: 9301AB0F 003B0032 95009809 FD08F7FC
 
Last edited by SHRMA,
D

Deleted User

Guest
Yes, I am running the game from a SD. What I meant to say is that the ARM11 error does not appear only with Bravely Default but with all applications even if the SD card is not inserted in the console. That is, even though my 3DS is "empty", the ARM11 error still occurs randomly and when it "wants". I can use my 3DS for hours or for only a few minutes until "Mr. ARM11" appears. It's random.



Ok, thanks.
I'm a newbie, so I'm going to ask you some questions:

1. Do I have to follow this step even if the ARM11 error is not caused by Bravely Default? I mean, the game is contingent, what I would like is the ARM11 error to go away. Forgive my ignorance.

IGNORE THIS 2. In which folder do I put the .3dsx files?

3. Wouldn't it be better to start with a starter kit?



EDIT:

I follow Path (A) but after Step 9(A) this message appeared:

As/title.../content/00000000.app
Verification failed

(<A> to continue)

I pressed (A), then it appeared:

Exception: Undefined (1)
GodMode9 v1.9.2pre1
2020-10-20 15:11:32

R00: 00000001 | R01: 20119340
R02: 00020000 | R03: 00000000
R04: 20000000 | R05: 20000020
R06: 00000000 | R07: 00000000
R08: 00000001 | R09: 01FFB6B0
R10: 0003BEEF | R11: 00000000
R12: 00000000 | R13: 227EE950
R14: 080390B5 | R15: 0802000C
CPSR: 200000DF

Stack:
227EE950: 00 00 7E 22 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
227EE960: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
227EE970: 00 00 00 00 00 00 38 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
227EE980: 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 20 00 00 00
227EE990: 00 00 00 00 00 02 03 08 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF
227EE9A0: 08 00 FF FF 00 00 FF FF 00 00 FF FF 08 00 FF FF
227EE9B0: 00 20 FF FF 02 00 FF FF 00 00 FF FF 00 A8 FF FF
227EE9C0: 80 00 FF FF 10 80 FF FF 00 02 FF FF 80 00 FF FF

Code:
0801FFF0: 5C8A08DA 43992107 2301410A D06B421A
08020000: 9301AB0F 003B0032 95009809 FD08F7FC
You didn't install your CIAs with that GodMode9 prerelease you have, did you?
 
  • Like
Reactions: SHRMA

SHRMA

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
26
Country
Spain
Update:

I am trying to document all the errors I am having to facilitate diagnosis. If you need more information, do not hesitate to tell me.

Can anybody help me? :sad:@TurdPooCharger

Thank you very much for your time


More errors:

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: data abort
  • Fault status: Translation - Section
  • Current process: HikariTr (000400000000FC500)

  • Processor: ARM11 (core0)
  • Exception type: data abort
  • Fault status: Alignment
  • Current process: HikariTr (000400000000FC500)
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,855
Trophies
1
XP
2,256
Country
Canada
HikariTr is still Bravely Default, isn't it?

At this point I would suggest continuing to look at errors that occur without your SD card inserted. SD card failures are frequently the cause of problems and it would be useful to eliminate that as a potential point of failure.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,842
Country
United States
@SHRMA, not sure if you're still around to read this really late reply.

From your post #10, I find it strange that GodMode9 crashed when the installed titles were being verified from Path (A).

This might be a case of a faulty SD card that has a failing memory controller.
If it's within your means, buy a replacement or temporarily borrow another SD card from a friend/family, repeat the process of quadruple reformatting + H2testw that second card, and copy + paste everything on that one, and rerun Path (A). This is to rule out whether your first card is no good or whether the crashes are due to a something else like a semi-softbricked 3DS firmware or perhaps a failing motherboard.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

retrospect

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
570
Country
I'd advise checking the hashes of the files copied to your SD card. Files can get messed up as they're written to a card. In my experience older USB 2.0 SD card readers are more reliable.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: I got Emerald "because I'm so neat" or some bullshit.