Argh, I got an error >_<

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rock Raiyu, Jan 10, 2009.

Jan 10, 2009

Argh, I got an error >_< by Rock Raiyu at 2:06 AM (1,268 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    So, for some reason, I have a boot 0 error everytime I start up my laptop when I dual-booted Mac OS X. I need to fix it. I have no DVD's with me or my Vista disc. Can I make use of my Flash memory so I can fix my laptop?
     
  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    do you have any installation dvds? (ubuntu vista osx ect?)
    if not, you probably have to wait

    boot0 error means your osx partition isnt active
     
  3. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I have the OS X Installation DVD.
     
  4. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    k, boot that cd, and when oyu get to the darwin boot menu, press f8 on your keyboard so oyu can type in more options

    type in "-s" (without quotes) and press enter
    it should start loading, and you can see the text on the screen

    after a while, it will ocme to a shell like thing, where you can type stuff
    assuming that you installed osx to your first harddrive, type in (qwithout quotes)
    "fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0"
    it should comeup with a list of partitions, and their filesystem next to it
    look at the number for the one that says hfs+ (or something like that), then type f (insertnumberhere)
    after that, write "w" without the quotes
    then "q" without quotes
    try rebooting now
     
  5. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I did it, now I get the

    boot0: MBR
    boot0: done
     
  6. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Which installation cd do you use?
     
  7. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I got it to boot into Windows Vista. Now I got to figure out how to dual-boot into OSX..thanks =)
     
  8. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia

Share This Page