Anyone have a Netgear DG834 router?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by x_comp, Aug 27, 2006.

Aug 27, 2006
  1. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wondering if there's a power setting that allows you to lower the range of the wireless signal or not. I couldn't find anything on the site = /
     
  2. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
  3. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    >_< Dang... Ordered the wrong one. Thanks for letting me know anyway ^^;;

    -Edit-

    Well er... What about the DG834G?
     
  4. 5kuzgib

    Newcomer 5kuzgib Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I've got a DG834G, and I don't ever remember seeing such an option.
     
  5. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm... That's too bad. Guess I'll try the Buffalo Airstation 125Mbps.
     
  6. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    why are you looking to reduce the wireless range?
     
  7. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Funny enough, I was considering all day yesterday if I should get that exact router. Is it recommended?
     
  8. Blebleman

    Member Blebleman GBAtemp Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    Chiba Prefecture , Japan
    Country:
    Canada
    Because he doesn't want his neighbors sucking on his connection, without setting security.
     
  9. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Er, which one? The Buffalo one? I don't know about the Netgear one but, it seems to have gotten some good reviews.

    I chosen to go for the Buffalo one because it's cheaper but, it also has good reviews and says it's DS compatible. They made those Nintendo branded USB WiFi dongles after all.
     
  10. A7mag3ddon

    A7mag3ddon Newbie

    I have that model and its superb, works on DS and PSP flawlesly.

    Heres a tip, turn off the wireless function when not using it [​IMG]
     
  11. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great to hear! But er... Buffalo or Netgear?

    I won't be turning it off much since the whole point of getting a router instead of the cheaper USB dongle is to network computers wirelessly. That's why I want to reduce the range so that it's only useable within the house [​IMG]

    The Datel Max Wi-Fi currently allows that but, I don't know about these two routers. It should be a standard feature anyway.
     
  12. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I use a netgear for all of my notebook + DS + (almost never) PSP needs. There's no need to reduce signal strength, just add a WEP key so your DS can use it too.
     
  13. angelotax

    Newcomer angelotax Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Italy
    Just add a 64bit Wep Key [​IMG]
     
  14. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, just for the record... Do you know you can crack WEP keys in less then 5 minutes? There's even sites that tell you how it's done [​IMG]
     
  15. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Do you live in an area filled with people who know how to do this? If so, do some MAC filtering. Oh wait, people can MAC spoof too. I guess you'll have to do wired, but someone can run a wire to hijack your internet. That means you should lock your door, but locksmiths can open locks.
     
  16. x_comp
    OP

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, and you will be the one coming round to blast open the front doors [​IMG]
     
  17. TeraS

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    i have the DG834G 108mpbs Router and the wireless connectivity from my laptop to the router is fast. I havent tried Wifi as i dont have a DS yet.

    You can lock the wireless connection so that people around the area cant connect with it easily because they will be required to use a password to gain access.
     

Share This Page