1. wurstpistole

    OP wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,522
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, so normally my Samsung KS7090 gets the 5.1 via HDMI and outputs it to my receiver. Works fine with PS4, Xbox One, Amazon, Netflix and so on. Switch only gives Stereo, regardless whether I set surround in the system settings. Anyone else having issues here?
     
  2. tenaciousdave

    tenaciousdave Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Same problem here using a Samsung KS8000. I ran the HDMI directly to my receiver and surround sound worked fine afterwards.
     
  3. wurstpistole

    OP wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,522
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, crap. The TV recognizes the signal and lets you choose which one to output but it seems the switch won't identify correctly as putting out a Dolby signal. Thats a switch issue though, as all other sources do it fine.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ah and I found out what the issue is. The switch doesn't support Dolby digital. It outputs uncompressed 5.1 PCM which either the TV or my receiver won't understand as 5.1 signal. Pity.
     
    migles likes this.
  4. Xzi

    Xzi Benebatch Cumberdict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    12,981
    Country:
    United States
    Another kink for a software update to iron out. My options for surround sound with Switch are pretty much non-existent, unfortunately.
     
  5. tenaciousdave

    tenaciousdave Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Yup. My receiver shows it as 5.1 PCM. What receiver are you using? Most support PCM.
     
  6. GerbilSoft

    GerbilSoft GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,378
    Country:
    United States
    Wii U only supported Linear PCM for 5.1, so it's not surprising that Switch also only supports Linear PCM. (Probably due to licensing fees that Nintendo doesn't want to pay.)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Digital, Anyone, having