Any Region Changer

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by FGOD, Aug 21, 2008.

Aug 21, 2008

Any Region Changer by FGOD at 8:12 AM (30,985 Views / 0 Likes) 121 replies

  1. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hey guys, i found this app on wiibrew.org, any idea if it is save to use? anyone tried it yet?

    Download link
     


  2. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i think so too, but i don't know... i don't wanne try it out cause i don't have a modchip so it is pretty hard to unbrick my wii...
     
  3. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    I've just tested it, works nicely.
    I changed the shop region and the video mode.
     
  4. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    but i guess you better not change the console mode to make sure your settings menu doesn't crash like on the video...

    but if you change the shopping region, you really can shop from other countries?

    so you can buy vc/wiiware that isn't released at your own region?
     
  5. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    yep works you can even use your wiipoints in other regions, you could even buy japanese wiipoints which are 6Euro per 1000 instead of 10Eur per 1000 in europe
     
  6. HowardC

    Member HowardC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States

    Well that would certainly be nice. I want to add msx injection support but I don't have access to the files. Also I can't seem to "aquire" them anywhere for reverse-engineering. (subtle hint).

    The question is though.... once you change the shop region are all your purchases on the real region null and void? (In other words you can't re-download a title anymore.)
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That can't be legal, can it? [​IMG]
     
  8. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Country:
    Sweden
    It actually is. You still PAY for it, its like importing [​IMG]
     
  9. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i think this would be indead a great chance to try msx injection [​IMG]

    i don't know about the purchases after changing the shop channel region as i didn't try this yet... i hope somebody who tried this can give us a hint, but i do think you still can as the purchases are locked to your vip account and your vip account doesn't change...
     
  10. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Seems lot more serious than Waninkoko's quickly done stuff

    thanks a lot of Tona, we definitely need a "Twiizer Knockaround" guy like you [​IMG]

    and a big thanks for sharing the sourcecode also, way to go
     
  11. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're using me old avatar, FGOD Xd


    Anyway, nice release
     
  12. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    nothing more fun then a mario picture of how he should look with realistic graphics [​IMG]

    i just realized i still didn't had my avatar selected [​IMG]
     
  13. RadioShadow

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool! But would the downloaded Japanese game work if the Wii Was Set to Region US for example?

    It's interesting you can't change the TV, just a shame you can't have NTSC and PAL (unless I'm mistaken).
     
  14. hai_haifa

    Newcomer hai_haifa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Israel
    i have jap wii with D2CKEY

    can i change only the system menu language without bricking my wii?

    i know that if i want to make full region change i need to change my D2CKEY as well, but i dont have the ability to do it.
    therefore i want to stay in the jap wii but only to change the system menu, setting menu to english.
    can i do it with this software?
     
  15. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes you can change the language and you can play the other region games with the function of changing game region settings...
     
  16. RadioShadow

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So in order to still play the downloaded Japanese game, the region would have to be Japanese but the language could be in English? Fair enough. At least it's possible to dump them and then we can make the wad region free and install it back on the rom.
     
  17. hai_haifa

    Newcomer hai_haifa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Israel
    but still, i dont understand. can i play backup games without any problem afterward?
     
  18. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, if you change your region it should work fine. But I should go safe and use GeckoOS still until something is more safe.

    EDIT: sorry about that
     
  19. hai_haifa

    Newcomer hai_haifa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Israel
    before you shouting read my previous reply

    i said: I HAVE D2CKEY chip inside!!!!!


    no problem. thanks
     
  20. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    linuxares is right, you can only play backup vc and wiiware games with this from another region... and i wouldn't use this program if you don't know what you were doing...
     

Share This Page