Another weird Kirby's Epic Yarn problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Kazekai, Apr 20, 2013.

Apr 20, 2013
  1. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    I think my Google search turned up at least 3 threads from here where people experience freezing but not under the same conditions. The game works fine from disc, but when I put it on my drive it works fine but then freezes after (I guess) 15-20 minutes of playing for no apparent reason? I've also tried 2 ISOs from 2 different places and the same thing happens.

    I'm using cISO 249 rev21 and CFG USBloader, the wiki says the game works fine http://wiki.gbatemp.net/w/index.php?title=USB_Game_Compatibility_Table so I am at a loss.
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    Could be a sleep mode issue with your HDD. There are usually tools to disable sleep mode on the manufacturer's website.
     
  3. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    None of my other games have this issue though.

    Found a Youtuber with the same problem, minus the vibrating controller:
     
  4. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't mean anything. What Harddrive do you use?
     
  5. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    You mean in the Wii? Whatever one it comes with I guess. Mine is from 2010.
     
  6. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, the kind of USB device you are using. Probably a USB related issue
     
  7. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    It's a western digital model, I have no idea how to check its hard drive, is it the same way you'd check a desktop's specs?
     
  8. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    :/
    Is it a My Passport?
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, is that a bad thing? I salvaged it from my aunt's ghastly clutter of electronics in her pantry a couple years ago and it works for the most part.

    What would work better for backing up games? I could always wait on an Amazon sale and grab a flash drive with lots of storage.
     
  10. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
  11. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  12. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Disable's some dumb thing involving spindown. And drive idling.
     
  13. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Says the drive update isn't applicable.
     
  14. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know then. How odd. What cIOS are you running?
     
  15. Kazekai
    OP

    Member Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    249.
     
  16. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I dunno, perhaps try installing the d2x cIOS files then.
     

Share This Page