Animal Crossing Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rightguardsport, Nov 21, 2008.

Nov 21, 2008
  1. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Greetings all!

    I have been away from the scene for a while and I have a couple questions now. Please don't be harsh lol.
    My Wii currently has version 3.3us and has a wiikey 1 installed. My question is if there is a firmware update that you must install in order to play Animal Crossing City Folk? I don't use homebrew at all so I am not worried about losing the capabilities of doing so. Basically, I just want to know if the the update will disable my Wiikey. Thanks!
     
  2. Jran Sakarra

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Is it a backup copy or real copy?
     
  3. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
  4. Jran Sakarra

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Scrub it of the update.
    I play the game on a 3.2 menu and it playes pefect.
    Just use Wii brickblocker to patch the ISO and then burn it again.
     
  5. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    You have 3.3U.

    The game has the same version...just run the update from the disc, it's harmless.
     
  6. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Jran for the quick replies! I actually had the iso loaded on wiibrickblocker and was waiting for such confirmation. I just wanted to double check to see if it will play or not before I made another coaster. Thanks again!
     
  7. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't install the update, you'll get a black screen when you try to load the game from the disc channel.

    Alternatively you can install the update manually with homebrew.
     
  8. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    As said above, if you brickblock you need to manually install the ios ffrom the update with wadmanager. Look for one of Noobwarrior7's posts on it, he has a link to the file.
     
  9. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone please point me in the right direction? What exactly is the update that comes with AA:CC? I just realized that the backup that I have was originally wii brickblocked so there is no way to update via the backup. please someone help!
     
  10. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    It has 3.3a w/ IOS38-64-v3609.WAD

    You need to install IOS38-64-v3609.wad with wad manager.
     
  11. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Google is not my friend... I can't seem to find it anywhere... (wad file)

    I know that posting to it is a bad thing, but can someone help me out, and point me in the right direction... like maybe in a PM?
     
  12. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so AA:CC has 3.3U...what if I download 3.4U? will that take care of the black screen?
     
  13. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Thank god for Google Cache! Found it on GBATemp here, in a Google Cache before the MOD removed it, haha...

    SHWEET!
     
  14. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. 3.4 doesn't install IOS38
     
  15. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    OMG well since I haven't used my Wii in a long time, I just assumed that it was still 3.3U....well I just checked it and found out that it is now 3.4U. Apparently my roommate updated it one day while he was playing it. So....now that I just realized my Wii is 3.4U is t still possible to install IOS38-64-v3609.WAD? I absolutely have no experience nor have I ever installed a WAD on my Wii. Any help would be appreciated!
     
  16. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    If you have no Homebrew Channel... then no.

    You'll have to update with a copy of AC that isn't brickblocked.
     
  17. rightguardsport
    OP

    Newcomer rightguardsport Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States

    So I can just borrow a friends retail copy and update. After than everything should be good?
     
  18. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Yep.
     
  19. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Well you better keep that copy otherwise how are you going to play..
     
  20. thomas4545lin

    Newcomer thomas4545lin Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page