Amazing Discovery all Windows Versions

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DQScott95, Feb 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Feb 28, 2010
  1. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so everyone hates the dotted border that appears around desktop icons randomly...right...well i found a fix for this!!! Go to thewindowsclub.com and there is a program you can download called FixWin, after you download it and run it go to the tab that says additional fixes and click "fix corrupted desktop icons" it works it made me soooo happy.
     


  2. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks man, nice lil util!
     
  3. Dark Blade

    Member Dark Blade Flippin' Insane

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Inside a Pokeball.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How is this an AMAZING discovery?

    It's not a big deal..
     
  4. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Some people think it is like computer perfectionests like me
     
  5. Shufflemac

    Newcomer Shufflemac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Doesn't vista and 7 have nice blue boarders?
     
  6. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Yes they do but sometimes the dotted border reappears and it really looks ugly and annoys some people
     
  7. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    is this what you're talking about?

    [​IMG]
    (around "my computer")

    i dont think its such a problem, but i guess yeah if you're really a perfectionist...
     
  8. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    At first I thought, OMG WHAT COULD IT BE?!?!? Saw the OP and was like wtffff. Then I saw Costello's post. I've never gotten such a thing before in my life. I don't see the point of it, can't u just refresh the desktop or restart explorer to get rid of it?
     
  9. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    No refreshing the desktop only makes it go away until you click the desktop again and restarting explorer.exe wont help trust me ive tried everything and this seems to be the only permanent solution and yes Costello that is what i am talking about
     
  10. foxgrey

    Member foxgrey GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    never heard of that program, but dial-a-fix has had a icon cache flush for years, and it works as advertised!
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It makes navigating the computer without a mouse quicker, though. [​IMG]
     
  12. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Hows that?
     
  13. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    If you were a really computer perfectionist, you wouldn't care, as it's normal for that to happen (I think...Doesn't it appear when you single-click on an icon?). Unless this is something completely different than what I'm thinking of.
     
  14. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    In windows 7 and vista instead of that it has a nice beautiful blue highlight
     
  15. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I think if you have Aero enabled then that you get the blue highlight instead.
    Though this is a nice find for low-end computer users.
     
  16. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    id rather have a fix for disappearing icons on the desktop without have to refresh in windows 7
     
  17. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    I have aero enabled and it happens to me a lot
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You can see where the "cursor" will be when you bring focus to the desktop.
     
  19. DQScott95
    OP

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Ya but most people use the mouse for navigating
     
  20. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    This isn't really that big of a deal. In fact, I actually prefer seeing a icon highlighted on my desktop. It means my computer is working, lol.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page