AKAIO with EZ Flash 3in1Plus

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by shattering, Jun 15, 2009.

Jun 15, 2009

AKAIO with EZ Flash 3in1Plus by shattering at 6:06 AM (1,553 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. shattering
    OP

    Newcomer shattering Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Here's my Hardware:
    NDS Lite
    Acekard 2i
    EZ Flash 3in1Plus
    I'm using AKAIO 1.4.1 PROPER for Firmware

    I tested using EZ3in1 for playing 3 games.
    1. Ryhthm Tengoku (J)
    2. Kingdom Hearts (U)
    3. Yggra Union (U)

    The first one runs ok, I just press A and the game loads to the PSRAM just fine.
    Now the problem occurs with the second and third game, which is using NOR.
    Kingdom Hearts won't run at all. It runs to the gameboy screen, and after the bios faded I can hear 2 beep sound and the screen freeze in white.
    Yggdra Union runs after I flash it to NOR, but there are graphical issues when running the game.

    I also tested another method for running the second and third game. After I flash it to NOR, I reset the NDS and run it straight from the DS (by holding B while running) and both games run just fine. No freeze, no graphical issue. The problem is, the game won't save.

    All ROMs are not trim or tempered in anyway.

    My question is:
    1. Is this an issue with AKAIO? Or am I just doing something wrong?
    2. Does using GBAexploader going to help? Do I put the GBAexploader.nds and ini in the root directory or in a folder? The readme on the download section is confusing. And where do I put the GBA games? I read that I have to put it in GBA_backup and also I have to make the folder GBA_SAVE and GBA_SIGN. Is this correct?

    Oh, and how do I make the GBA skin for GBAexploader? What size, etc.? Thanks.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    this has been discussed many times, next time use the forum search button.

    both akaio and gba exploader appear to have issues with nor flashing on the 3in1+. you need to flash using the app and then boot in the ds firmware. your games will save to the 3in1 as long as the battery works. you will not be able to dump the save without doing some edits to akaio's globalsettings.ini. this is because the game failed to run, the right bit of data may or may not be stored in the globalsettings.ini, so akaio will not know to dump the save on the next reboot. akaio adds an akaio specific 16byte header to each save file. those saves will not work on gba exploader and vice versa, unless you hex edit them.

    if you can play a psram game, save it, dump the save using akaio, and reload the save for later... the save issue is with those roms. can you verify they are clean dumps by crc?

    please tell me what is confusing about the following?

    here is the gba frame template: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5330

    -another world
     
  3. shattering
    OP

    Newcomer shattering Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Indonesia
    So where should I put the games? On Root? Or on a folder named GBA_Backup?

    I don't have any problem with PSRAM, only with NOR.

    If I put the game on NOR then run it from the ds firmware, could you explain more as to how to dump the save game? Does using the dump sram on the AKAIO will do? And where should I put the saves?

    One more thing, suppose I want to load the game just to NOR without running it, how do I do that with AKAIO?

    Thanks.

    PS: If I could, I would have test it myself (I mean which folder to put etc.) but I'm not with my DS right now, and when I do, I just wanna do it right. Thanks.
     
  4. jruschme

    Newcomer jruschme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Is the problem that the OP needs to patch the two games in question to save to SRAM, rather than NOR? (As in the same thing one needs to do to run a Pokemon GBA ROM?)
     
  5. shattering
    OP

    Newcomer shattering Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Save games always go to SRAM.
    As stated in the other thread, PSRAM for game less than or equal to 16MB, NOR for 32MB games.
    SRAM is only for save games.

    I have tested using my DS, and have succesfully run the second and third game using NOR via DS firmware after loading it from GBAexploader.
    I think I'll be using exploader rather than AKAIO for GBA games.

    PS: Someone should remove the comment and the other readme in the download for gbaexploader. It's really confusing...
     
  6. shattering
    OP

    Newcomer shattering Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Update: I'm using GBAldr now. It's better than AKAIO or GBAExploader. No freeze or anything using this. It also support skining. Can only use NOR though, but that's enough for me. I prefer NOR than PSRAM anyway.

    I can boot NOR straight from GBAldr and don't have to boot from DS firmware anymore [​IMG] with skins [​IMG]:D:D:D:D
     
  7. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I might try it. Does it support multiple saves like GBAExploder?
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
  9. shattering
    OP

    Newcomer shattering Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Indonesia
     

Share This Page