AKAIO/M3 Sakura

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ScorpiusDX, Mar 23, 2010.

Mar 23, 2010

AKAIO/M3 Sakura by ScorpiusDX at 1:01 AM (1,699 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. ScorpiusDX
    OP

    Newcomer ScorpiusDX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I plan on getting an Acekard 2i sometime soon since my M3i is starting to get faulty. What I want to ask is since my sdhc card is flashed with the M3 firmware on it, can I replace that with AKAIO?
     
  2. Atashi

    Member Atashi Out of the Loop

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, just copy the akmenu4.nds and __aio directory onto the SDHC card and when you put it in your Acekard, you'll have Akaio. In fact you can use the same SDHC in both Acekard and M3, the different firmwares can co-exist, since the M3 firmware lives in /SYSTEM while Akaio lives in /__aio

    -Atashi
     
  3. ScorpiusDX
    OP

    Newcomer ScorpiusDX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Both firmwares will read from the same sav files or do I need to separate them into their own respective folders?
     
  4. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    They use the same saves. (AFAIK) They also read the saves in the same place.
     
  5. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO reads the save files in the same folder as the ROM files so that'll be a difference between the M3 firmware. Make sure that you convert your saves if needed, they have a *.sav extension, & have the exact same file name as the game, such as Mario.nds is associated with Mario.sav.
     
  6. Atashi

    Member Atashi Out of the Loop

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah I didn't know the M3 handled saves differently, I've never run anything other than homebrews on the M3.

    -Atashi
     
  7. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I can concur. Once upon a time, I had AKAIO, AK OFW, Sakura, and DSTT firmware all on my one card. All of them played the same games with the same saves, and nothing interfered.
     

Share This Page