AKAIO 1.7 soft-reset problem

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by McNA5TY, Jun 7, 2010.

Jun 7, 2010

AKAIO 1.7 soft-reset problem by McNA5TY at 2:47 PM (8,890 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. McNA5TY
    OP

    Newcomer McNA5TY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all. I just installed AKAIO 1.7 on my Acekard 2.1 (bad batch) flashcart. I love it, BTW. Seems a lot faster plus there are a lot of features that I haven't been able to use until now because of the Acekard that I have. My only problem is that when I soft-reset from any game all my system settings revert to default. This doesn't happen when I turn the DS off then back on. Any ideas?

    edit: Before anyone suggests it, I've already formatted with SD formatter and reinstalled AKAIO and my games.
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A small number of people were having the same issues with AKAIO 1.6. I believe some fixed it by formatting the MicroSD card with Gparted (linux). Otherwise set AKAIO up how you want, then give the globalsettings.ini in the __aio directory the read only attribute.

    I've suggested this a few times, but no one has said if it fixes the issue. If you to change your AKAIO settings, you'll have to remove the read only attribte. The options for the games though are stored in a different file.
     
  3. KevInChester

    Member KevInChester GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have this issue myself. I tried the globalsettings fix, didn't work (odd I know). Was late though so will try it again later.

    One thing that did fix it temporarily was to remove some old saves off my SD that I never used, for games long since deleted for example. This fixed it, I could reset without issues. Then it came back out of the blue, no idea what is causing it. The AKAIO team can't reproduce it unfortunately.
     
  4. doz592

    Newcomer doz592 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I too have this problem - after 1.6, I've had to shut off Soft-Reset for everything, or else I lose all of my settings (which is bad - I need it to boot into my slot-2 flashcart). I would like to see a fix soon, because setting it to read only is not only inefficient, I'm losing out on a feature I paid for!
     
  5. KevInChester

    Member KevInChester GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If anyone who is experiencing this problem send me a picture of their root directory (the one with all the games in) or a listing to my PM I'd be most interested.

    Just want to see if there are any correlations. Also let me know what HWID and SVN you have according to AKAIO.
     
  6. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Just a question : DID YOU FULL FORMAT with PANASONIC FORMATER?
    (options full format erase off)
     
  7. EcoSport

    Newcomer EcoSport Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    McNA5TY: Do you have a DS Lite or DSi?

    penthaler: Do you think FULL FORMAT, Erase OFF will solve the issue?

    I am having the same issue with an Acekard 2i in a friend's DSi (HW ID 81). I had no issues with the AKAIO 1.6RC2. I copied all .nds files and .sav files to my hard drive, then did QUICK FORMAT on the microSD, then loaded AKAIO 1.7, then copied all the .nds and .sav files back to the card. Every time I soft-reset, it reverts. So, I deleted 1.7, and put 1.6RC2 back on, and it works fine again. If I put 1.7 on again, it messes up again.

    OK, and here's something strange. In my family, we have a DSi, and 2 DS Lites. I upgraded our DSi by doing the same as above on the friend's DSi, but on ours, I encountered NO soft reset issue. Also no issue on our DS Lite. All upgrading from 1.6 RC2 to 1.7 on Acekard 2i's. Now I know why the AKAIO team has trouble reproducing it! I couldn't reproduce it either.

    I will get my hands on the friend's DSi again, and see if a FULL FORMAT will solve the issue.
     
  8. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    My friends on another site had many problems with new AKAIO 1.7.
    FIRST -> cannot start some game, although they was fixed -> the same "bad batch" card -> panasonic solved it
    SECOND -> non working soft reset with games, although all settings was set up in right way -> ak2i -> full format via sd formater solved it
    THIRD -> cannot run any games (stuck at loading sign), although he properly reinstalled whole system -> again, solved via sd formater.

    I think that it should work. If not, try the oldest trick -> paper work.

    My opinion is that there are two possible faults -> wrong formated msd or bad contacts.
     
  9. JabbaFlap

    Newcomer JabbaFlap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Deep Space
    Country:
    United States
    I had that problem of games 'sticking' on AKAIO 1.7, but it was my own fault as I didn't use sd formatter on my msdhc card, soon as I did it all games I tried loaded & worked really well, also fast loading [​IMG]
    Excellent system!
     
  10. woffi63

    Newcomer woffi63 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Germany
    I had this problem from Akaio 1.5.1 to Akaio 1.6RC1. And no one could reproduce this error!!!

    For me the solution was GParted - delete Partition --> New partition --> format this new partition (fat32), and all works!!

    This error was only by one of my three TF, so i would say this is a problem with MicroSD (Mine was a Kingston 4GB).
     
  11. EcoSport

    Newcomer EcoSport Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    woffi63, what are the numbers written on your Kingston 4GB microSD? Also, how does one use GParted? I downloaded the files, but can't figure out how to run them.

    After extensive testing on multiple devices, I have concluded that this is a specific microSD card problem. I also had the issue with a certain Kingston 4GB (had 2 other Kingston 4GBs that worked fine).

    I had one microSD that would lose AKAIO 1.7 settings after soft-reset.

    I tried:
    2 DSIs,
    2 DS Lites,
    4 Acekard 2i's,
    and 6 microSDs. (3 x Kingston 4GB ; 1 x Transcend 8GB ; 2 x Kingston 2GB)

    The other 5 microSDs worked fine with AKAIO 1.7 soft-resets. The problem microSD had the same problem in multiple combinations of the DSs and AK 2i's. So, it is certainly a card issue.

    So, I reformatted the thing a million times using the SD Formatter (a.k.a. Panasonic Formatter) using every setting except Erase On since my reader doesn't support it. I tried, QUICK FORMAT (erase off), FULL FORMAT (erase off), FULL FORMAT (erase OFF ; format size adjustment ON). Each time I then reloaded AKAIO 1.7, and a game or two, and still had the same problem with soft resets each time. Nothing worked.

    So, I looked closer at the problem microSD. It says the following on it:
    Kingston
    4GB
    CO4G Taiwan
    SDC4/4GB 37

    One of the other "good" micro SDs has this:
    Kingston
    4GB
    CO4G Taiwan
    SDC4/4GB 41

    The only visible difference between the two are the 37 and 41 numbers.

    Both were bought from Amazon about a month apart. One just arrived this week, and one I purchased last month.

    However, I noticed another difference. When I format them in the SD Formatter they come up with different Total Space values when it says "Drive Format Complete".

    Good card = 3.68 GB (3,955,228,672 Bytes)
    Bad card = 3.67 GB (3,951,034,368 Bytes)

    So the bad card has less space on it.

    SD cards have a secure protected area on them, which is why they are called "Secure Digital." It seems that the "37" card has more "hidden" space on it. Maybe this is the source of the problem. Maybe there is some data that isn't getting deleted that is messing with the AKAIO.

    The strange thing is that if I load AKAIO 1.6RC1 or 1.6RC2 on that "bad" card, they both work fine with soft-resets. Just 1.7 has an issue. Strange.

    I haven't tried GParted yet. I'm thinking I'll just exchange the card, but it still bugs me as to why this problem occurs.
     
  12. EcoSport

    Newcomer EcoSport Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    BTW, AKAIO Help says I have:
    AKAIO 1.7 HW: 81 SVN: 892


    What is the SVN anyway?
     
  13. McNA5TY
    OP

    Newcomer McNA5TY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all thanks for the suggestions.

    By the way, my system setup and specs are:
    DS Lite
    Acekard 2.1 HW:80 SVN:892 (bad batch)
    AKAIO 1.7 (duh)
    Lexar 2GB microSD card (Wal-Mart)
    formatted FAT with SD Formatter Full Format, Erase OFF

    I tried everything, but couldn't seem to fix the issue I'm having. I just won't use soft-reset until I get another microSD card to try on.
     
  14. BrotherCheng

    Newcomer BrotherCheng Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    中国
    Country:
    China
    i have the same problem.
    it has no problem with my 2GB micro sd.

    recently i brought a kingmax micro SD 8gb.
    then i copied the files from my old card to the new one.when i soft-reset my dsi it had the same problem.

    then I formatted with PANASONIC FORMATER
    it works fine now.

    it really helps me a lot. thanx.

    ps: i am not good at english..
     
  15. EcoSport

    Newcomer EcoSport Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    BrotherCheng, did you get it to work with BOTH cards after re-formatting with the Panasonic Formatter?

    I got it to work OK with 7 out of 8 cards after reformatting, however, there was one card that just wouldn't work even after FULL reformatting with the Panasonic Formatter.

    Did both your cards end up working?
     
  16. dysoct

    Newcomer dysoct Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hi there, I've also encountered this problem this whole week. It really annoys me to know that something is not working as they should. Well gladly I've overcome it, just by formatting using the Gparted software from inside Ubuntu. It seems that there are some unallocated space which could have caused this problem. Good luck!
     
  17. BrotherCheng

    Newcomer BrotherCheng Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    中国
    Country:
    China
    EcoSport:
    both of my cards work fine.
    AKAIO 1.7 HW: 81 SVN: 892
    KingMax 8GB SDHC made in Taiwan
     
  18. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's the AKAIO build.
     
  19. woffi63

    Newcomer woffi63 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Germany
    I have 5 MicroSD:

    Two 8GB Kingston
    Two 4GB Kingston
    One 4GB Sandisk

    And only by one of the 4GB Kingston i have this issue of resetting Global settings by soft reset a game.

    First time the error appears after updating from Akaio 1.5.1 to 1.6RC1, and second time it was after installing Akaio 1.7.

    In both cases i format the MSD several times with Panasonic formatter ---> the error resists

    The solution in both cases was GParted under Ubuntu 9.10!!
    Delete the complete Partition ---> create new Partition ---> format fat32 ----> problem solved.(Akaio starts a little bit slower after formatting with GParted)

    since it was only by one of my five MSD, i think it´s a problem with this Kingston 4GB.

    @EcoSport: My Kingston with this problem:

    Kingston
    4GB
    CO4G Taiwan
    SDC4/4GB 37

    seems the same than you have!!!
     
  20. tomrev

    Member tomrev GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page