AK2i constantly freezing

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by afif95, Jan 31, 2010.

Jan 31, 2010

AK2i constantly freezing by afif95 at 1:48 AM (2,742 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Just bought it for a week. It worked swell for the first few days, then the games will freeze randomly, when loaded back up, I can still progress through that freezing point. I tried a full format using Panasonic's formatter, no go. Tried the paper trick just for the fun of it, the games still hangs.

    Halp?

    Here's a little update; I found out that the frequency of the freezes differ between games. For instance, GTA:CW freezes occur less in frequency compared to The World Ends With You (Boy, can't go 5 minutes on this game without freezing).

    It came to me to think that the MicroSD is at fault. So switched it to a spare 1GB. And voila, there were not much freezes.

    Yes, the games still freeze, but the frequency of the freeze between games are finally even. There were no games that freezes more than the other. And the length before a game freeze is certainly large, like, 45-60 minutes then a freeze. Sometimes no freeze at all.

    Anywho, is game-freeze a normal act of AKAIO 1.5.1/AK2i on DSi?
     


  2. All4consoles-UK

    Newcomer All4consoles-UK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you used new games after a week or same games freezing used for a week? You have not stated what capacity micro sd card you are using. Panasonic formatter is most helpful on 8gb micro sdhc cards otherwise no problem. Also check the authenticity of the card by going to acekard.com and if genuine save your games, format the micro sd card and reinstall the ak2i software, latest being 4.21. Hope this helps.
     
  3. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
  4. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    what are the games that freezes on you?

    second, you could always try to download the rom from another source
     
  5. Emoskater

    Newcomer Emoskater Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Great white north
    Country:
    Canada
    that happened to me all i did was re download AKAIO
     
  6. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    It's a 4 GB MicroSDHC card. Branded Sandisk. I ran AKAIO 1.5.1 on it, truly legit. The games are KH 358/2 Days, Pheonix Wright, Mario Kart, simplified, every single game.

    The ROMs were working fine, until a week. So the ROMs aren't a problem (Is it? Correct me). I have yet to find another TF card to test, but till then, this is the only info I got.
     
  7. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Shamefully, an up.
     
  8. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Get a soft cloth and clean up all golden contacts on the Acekard
     
  9. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Seems idiotic, but I tried that.

    And, here's something, Pheonix Wright is the game where freezing occurs frequently.

    Could it be that the MicroSDHC is fried?
     
  10. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Re-up again.


    Any suggestions?
     
  11. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Silly question but although it's an AK2i - are you using it on a DSLite by any chance ??

    I had countless problems with games freezes, as well as it freezing on the Nintendo 'Health screen' & I tried the 'card trick' as well.

    It seems that DSLite have 'shorter contacts' inside that can cause problems with flashcards (but not with Commercial games).

    It could be THAT that's causing the problem - any chance you could try the card out on a DSPhat or DSi ??
    If so & it doesn't 'freeze' then that could be your answer.
    If it still 'freezes' then it could be the card - apparently there's been a 'bad batch' of Acekard made
     
  12. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    The NDS that the AK2i is on is actually a DSi.

    Here's a little update; I found out that the frequency of the freezes differ between games. For instance, GTA:CW freezes occur less in frequency compared to The World Ends With You (Boy, can't go 5 minutes on this game without freezing).

    It came to me to think that the MicroSD is at fault. So switched it to a spare 1GB. And voila, there were not much freezes.

    Yes, the games still freeze, but the frequency of the freeze between games are finally even. There were no games that freezes more than the other. And the length before a game freeze is certainly large, like, 45-60 minutes then a freeze. Sometimes no freeze at all.

    Anywho, is game-freeze a normal act of AKAIO 1.5.1/AK2i on DSi?
     
  13. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to say - Nope.....

    I think I've had only one game freeze on me since I got the AK2 updated to work on a DSi - that was AC:WW - & it COULD be that it's the only game that gets loaded by AKAIO using the RED 'LOADING...' method (DMA mode)
     
  14. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i had yet to encounter any freeze on my setup (ak2i + DSi)

    if SD card is not the problem
    then could it be your flash cart?
     
  15. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I knew it was a "no" for my question. The games still freeze, but rarely (After I switched the microSD).

    So yeah. I guess I better call up Gamerscode (A AK2i local vendor) or something. Suggestions on what to say to him?
     
  16. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    you got it from LYN ? that guy right?

    just ask for exchange (if it is still under warranty) because the ak2i you are having is giving you random freeze and other people have no problem!

    highlight to him that this problem is still persistent even you change another SD card

    if he doesn't wish to exchange then write in a dispute to the admins (if it is still under warranty)
     
  17. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    A'ight, I'll get to him ASAP. My warranty is still valid till 24th of Ferbruary.

    So, should I write a PM to him through Lowyat pointing him to this thread or plainly SMS him and bring visual proof (Handphone recording) when I and him COD?
     
  18. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    well... that depends on him..whether he want a prove or not, just ask him about it [​IMG]

    so far from what i heard he is a decent seller
    if me? i will just SMS him and get an exchange by today/tomorrow! that depends he is back from the CNY hols or not [​IMG]
     
  19. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Shall SMS him soon then. Probably will see him during the weekends. Thanks for the help people!
     
  20. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Alright, dealing with the guy in like a few hours.

    When I messaged him, he said that he'll test whether the AK2i is faulty or not. How is it done, actually?

    Other than that, I just read a few threads about freezing during the intro video. The guy was using Class 2 microSDHC, which is actually same as mine.

    However, if the problem was my MicroSDHC, won't it freeze during start-up only?
     

Share This Page