AirScan v0.5

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Tempbot, Jan 9, 2010.

Jan 9, 2010

AirScan v0.5 by Tempbot at 4:04 PM (8,687 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Tempbot
    OP

    Contributor Tempbot Tunnel Snakes rule

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] AirScan v0.5
    Wi-Fi Access Point finder

    This is the new version of AirScan, my homebrew app for scanning WiFi access points.
    The new version is much more stable and includes connectivity testing for open access points.

    Changelog v0.5 : 09/01/2010
    - got rid of PALib (way easier to build)
    - timeouts should work better (correctly ?)
    - cleaner code, split in different files
    - connection test to open APs[/p]
    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Official site
    [​IMG] Discuss
    Contributed by trou
     


  2. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    Is there a way to crack the WPA key with this APP or any way on the DS?
    I have a protected access point at school that i can't access [​IMG]
     
  3. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    No. This is just to scan the area around you and see if there are any networks you can connect to. This is not a cracking app.
     
  4. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    Umm ok so there is no way to do it with the DS [​IMG]
     
  5. BastarB

    Member BastarB Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Sweden
    What I have heard is that it is impossible to make an aircrack port for Nintendo DS, probably since it will take eternity to gather the required amount of packages to crack the network key because the Nintendo DS wifi transfer speed is so dead slow to accomplish this! Anyone is free to correct me if I'm wrong!

    Well back on topic, this app seems nice, I'm going to try it out, even if I already have an personal accesspoint already at home! =)
     
  6. AparoidX

    Newcomer AparoidX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    IL
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, no. It's too secure for something as little as the DS to crack. I could be wrong though, but the only method I've seen used to crack it is with a password dictionary and time.
     
  7. BastarB

    Member BastarB Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, I think there was an app for the DS which made it possible to cracking the wireless password of a wireless network, but to do it however, you have to gather the required package files from the target network with a wireless adapter from a computer. The DS program just used the collected packages that the computer collected, and then it was able to reveal the password from it.
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Beat me to it [​IMG] I think it was called AirCrack DS or something like that.
     
  9. BastarB

    Member BastarB Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, that was the name of it [​IMG] I found this program AireplayNDS also, haven't tried it, but It looks quite unfinished thou =/:

    http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=12...5805ea52326e265
     
  10. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    Yup, it does.
     
  11. moli

    Newcomer moli Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Hungary
    freezes after ~8 seconds for me (ds lite v5+acekard v2.1+akaio v1.5.1). finds 8 ap with correct data, refreshes them, but suddenly bam!
     
  12. adriande2

    Member adriande2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
    It's useless to try using the DS for your school's wi-fi.
    Most schools(and other public access points) have a confirmation page when you first connect, since the DS doesn't use a regular internet test(as in using a web browser) to connect at first, it's useless to try this.
     
  13. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the update. I use the older version now and then. It's useful for judging how far a signal can travel.
     
  14. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Yea i use the old version for the same perpose as the poster above me [​IMG] thanks
     
  15. trou

    Newcomer trou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    did you enable timeouts ? Without timeouts it should be rather stable. I tried it yesterday with 150 access points, it worked correctly.
     
  16. richufc

    Newcomer richufc Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brilliant app - does exactly what is says on the tin. Works great on my TTDS. Useful for finding access points when you are out and about.

    Seems really sensitive too. My laptop only picks up 3-4 wireless networks but from wandering the house with my DS I've found 8 already - all locked though ;-)
     
  17. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    It's my teachers one and isn't owned by the school.
     
  18. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Looks very similar to DS2Key which I always used for this purpose.
     
  19. mariosonic

    Member mariosonic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet! Maby this will finialy get me on my ds on wifi with WPA2!

    Im not sure how to use this though.When it says *WPA or WEP* i wasnt sure what to do.
     
  20. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a DS and not DSi, it has to be WEP.
     

Share This Page