Airport Express and the DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by raylgo, Jan 8, 2009.

Jan 8, 2009

Airport Express and the DS by raylgo at 3:02 PM (1,175 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. raylgo
    OP

    Member raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Philippines
    I used to be able to connect to WiFi with my DS until we got a new Airport Extreme router... Now i couldnt figure out how to configure it that it would allow my DS access wile not affecting the connection of the other Apple products that it can easily see and are friends with...
     
  2. Dr.Stiles

    Member Dr.Stiles GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Caduceus Australia
    Country:
    Australia


    You mean the Airport express in Hong Kong??? Lol, this is quite confusing. Hmm, I used to be able to go on Wi-Fi as well, but We got a new router and it's not compatible with the Nintendo DS. Go on the Wi-Fi website to check a list of the routers that are compatible. If you can't find it there, then you'll need to buy a Wi-Fi connection USB.
     
  3. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    is this new router perhaps broadcasting in 802.11 G or N only with WPA security? these tend to be the new settings on most routers. your ds can not work with those settings as it requires 802.11b and no encryption/wep encryption only.

    -another world
     
  4. raylgo
    OP

    Member raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Philippines
    So all i have to change is WEP encryption and Network speed from N to B right?

    The router settings said N then had in parenthesis (compatible with b/g). Should I change this or leave as is?

    Hmm... The DS still reports it as incompatible encryption or something... The router says WEP encryption already.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    if it says N its using N. get the wep key and add it to your nds. just run any wifi game and goto the config settings. you might want to also mac filter your router and then add the mac address of your nds for better security.

    -another world
     

Share This Page