Adblock for Android?

Discussion in 'Android' started by DeMoN, Dec 7, 2011.

Dec 7, 2011

Adblock for Android? by DeMoN at 2:56 AM (4,688 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a good program for this? I already tried Android Adblock but it doesn't work. Specifically, I'm looking for a program like Adblock Plus for Firefox.
     


  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
  3. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I thought about that but was discouraged from downloading since there are so many bad reviews, which is surprising for Firefox so I assume there actually is something wrong with the app.
    But it looks like I don't have any other choice, thanks.

    Also, how do I change the default 4 docked apps? (Phone, Email, Web, Apps)?

    Edit: Firefox android has no flash, so of course there'd be no ads. Gonna try Dolphin instead and see if there's an Adblock addon for it.
     
  4. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I remember there was an adblock for Dolphin, but it's not in their supported addons list, anymore...
    And I'm not sure if it even worked well.
     
  5. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    AdFree or Adaway
     
  6. al5911

    Member al5911 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Somewhere on earth ...
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I use Adfree on my S.E x8 and GT-i9100G with Dolphin browser. Works great!

    Never use Adaway tho... will try it next :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    A lot of the newer comments for Adfree say that it stopped working recently. What is this all about?
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From what I gather, Ad Free lost effectiveness lately; whether it's because the host files weren't comprehensive enough or something I've not gotten to the bottom of. I swicthed to AdAway myself a little while ago.
     
  9. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    If you're rooted AdFree Android is the way to go. It blocks ads throughout the whole system, so ads within apps are blocked (such as those in angry birds). Although some apps will still have black space where the ad should be, many just have the ad as an overlay, so it's a pretty neat app (it obviously works on the browser too, any browser for that matter).

    Edit: I see that's what others were referring to. Here's a link to Adaway too, for convenience.

    Edit 2: ROM Toolbox can also block ads, that's what I use and it's been working fine for me.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I think I'm gonna go with Adaway, gonna have to root my phone first though. Thanks everyone.
     
  11. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    Ad Free only uses one host file while AdAway uses three different ones (with the ability to add more). That is probably why AdAway works better.
     
  12. sputnix

    Member sputnix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    or you can download the firefox app and install the adblock program
     
  13. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Firefox was buggy on my side, which is why I switched to Dolphin.
     
  14. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I can't tell if Adaway is working or not. I'm still getting an iPhone 4S ad on Angry Birds.
    Also, how can I trick websites to think that I'm using a PC not an Android? Specifically, I want to watch videos on www.nbc.com

    Edit: More nitpicking. Adaway does seem to work on web browser after I installed Easylist and fanboy lists, but it doesn't actually remove the frames, it still displays a "Web page not available," box which are quite huge on some webpages.
     
  15. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Dolphin has a feature, a few browsers have it actually.
    Go to Dolphin settings, and change the User Agent setting to Desktop instead of Android. You can even make it think it's an iPod. lol
     
  16. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, the useragent trick is a handy one; if you're on an S II (and maybe some other devices too), typing about:useragent into the address bar will bring up a window where you can toggle this too.

    Angry Birds is a tricky one, I've found. If you go into the in-game menu there is a little icon with a pig and a satchel; tapping that turns the advert tiles in the menu off and it seems to turn off the in-game ones too, unless that was either coincidence or a placebo. When Ad Free was working it was more effective on Angry Birds.
     
  17. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Really now, it seems like very few people care about blocking ads. They must all have unlimited data plans.


     
  18. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
     
  19. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you restarted your phone yet? It's usually recommended to restart the phone to refresh the DNS cache once you've updated the hosts file.
     
  20. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    That must be really annoying to reboot my phone after every update of the subscriptions. But less annoying than ads.

    Also, I can go to www.nbc.com, I just can't watch any full videos (short clips okay) because it detects that I am using an unsupported device. Changing the useragent does not do anything. All websites already know about this trick and have blocked it from working. It seems that websites now detect the version of flash you are using, if it is for mobile devices then it will block you. The only workaround is to use an unofficial version of flash.
     

Share This Page