Acekard2i Xilinx Spartan Chip Clone

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Another World, Apr 12, 2010.

Apr 12, 2010
  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    special thanks to --=Zero=-- for providing these images. this is a known clone which reports HWID 44 (which is a real number).

    i hope these help some of you to make more informed decisions. these pictures are hyperlinked thumbnails, click to enlarge.

    -another world

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. iamthemilkman

    Member iamthemilkman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Country:
    United States
    Did he report where he purchased it from?
     
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Do they work with AKAIO 1.6RC2? Nope.
     
  4. Vectorferret

    Newcomer Vectorferret Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a nasty feeling I have one of these. Is there any way I can be sure without taking messing with the hardware? It came with a bootstrap older than 1.4 as I had to update it before the Danny Phantom appeared and I heard all clones come with 1.4 already. (It also runs AKAIO fine so I am unsure if cloned, but it looks a lot like those pictures.)
     
  5. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Ignore my last post, there's a screenshot there showing that it's blocked by AKAIO.
     
  6. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    wow....
    it's getting nasty.

    akaio and acekard rule too much.
     
  7. Toader

    Member Toader GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    I hope acekard doesn't become the next R4.
     
  8. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    If that happens, then people would need to hack AKAIO. And if that happens, then Normmatt will stop working on AKAIO. And if that happens, then there's no point in people trying to clone the Acekard.
     
  9. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's true but people won't care, they'll just clone it anyways and the cycle will begin. Then we all pay the price.
     
  10. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure people would bother hacking AKAIO with the Wood R4 source being released. RPG source is also availible to all.

    It's great of TWG to allow Wood to run on the Original R4's for those who originally purchased them and have been left out if the cold when it comes to updates, but I believe it's a bad idea for it to be running on clones.

    It won't take long for R4 sites to be touting it as their 'official' firmware http://www.r4li.com/download/woodr4.html

    Because with TWG they look like Acekards and use Acekard themes, they will start being passed off as Acekards rather than R4's.

    I imagine it will also give rise to R4 clones labelled as Super Acekard's, Acekard Ultra's, Acekard Pro's, Acekart 2i, Acecard 2i etc.

    Is Wood R4 based on the RPG open source which Acekard released?
     
  11. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Which basically means even more R4 clones.
     
  12. patch04

    Newcomer patch04 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an Acekard 2.1 (not 2i) the Acekard website says that some acekard 2 carts can have another chip other than the SSL. Mine is a spansion. Is mine a fake?

    Card is freezing on game saves, using latest acaio or Acekard firmware neither work, however will work with old firmware v4.07a15

    See images below, not sure if these links will work

    http://i43.tinypic.com/fuc9zc.jpg%5b/IMG
    http://i39.tinypic.com/2vuh3cm.jpg%5b/IMG
    http://i44.tinypic.com/15i2ni9.jpg%5b/IMG
    http://i40.tinypic.com/1551hep.jpg%5b/IMG
     
  13. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Known problem from a hardware revision, you'll have to wait for AKAIO 1.6RC3.

    SST chips refer to the Acekard 2i's, Spansion is normal for 2.1's. The Spartan makes it easy, it has neither.
     
  14. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
     
  15. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    it is nice to see one site giving credit back to the source of exclusive information. i alway liked those r4li.com guys. they continue to support the original r4 long after everyone gave up on it.

    -another world
     
  16. patch04

    Newcomer patch04 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I had a dialogue with Acekard boys on their chat, they told me it was a Clone, i did get the feeling they were fobbing me off to make me go away. How nice of them!
    I am convinced it is a genuine card and acekard are just denying everything untill Norbett bails them out with the RC3 revision. Until then i will just have to sit tight.
     

Share This Page