Acekard on DSi

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Tempbot, Nov 17, 2008.

Nov 17, 2008

Acekard on DSi by Tempbot at 7:32 PM (8,793 Views / 0 Likes) 44 replies

  1. Tempbot
    OP

    Contributor Tempbot Tunnel Snakes rule

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Acekard on DSi
    Finally !
    [youtube] [/youtube]

    Thanks to Acekart Team for the news.

    Source

    Contributed by DieForIt
     


  2. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    Great news. [​IMG] . But im still sticking with my lite, i dont really see a point in moving to the DSi
     
  3. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Time to buy an acekard.
     
  4. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Cool, but I'm more interested to see if someone can hack the SD port [​IMG]
     
  5. Hop2089

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard may be my new flashcart since I own a DSi.
     
  6. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I don't get it...the quote makes it sound like the Acekard DOESN'T work, and they're not making one until they can hack the DSi...?
     
  7. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like the AceKard TEAM has a solution, not that an Ak2 works.
     
  8. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Ah, okay. So they have a solution, they just can't figure out how to release it to the public. I'm guessing they probably did some sort of internal hack to the DSi...

    Either way, we still have a long time before the DSi comes out in NA. By then, I'm sure one of the many flashcart teams will figure it out.
     
  9. BakuFunn

    Member BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    What do they mean by only in LAB? They modded the DSi? A specific condition?
     
  10. dodol

    Member dodol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    internal modification/modchip maybe ?
     
  11. pilotwangs

    Member pilotwangs GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,025
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sweet,this is great news.
     
  12. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hope the other flash cart makers can also break the DSi encryption (after all, they're competitors).

    But this is great news, I may even be buying an Acekard if they can get it working no prob on the DSi. [​IMG]
     
  13. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Folks, read the news carefully, yes they found a way to get the Acekard working but they can't commercially make a product that does so. Basically what that means is that it will only work for the AceKard team, not for any of you. So basically all they said that they managed to get it to work but its not feasable or possible for any of you.

    The DSi has very strong anti-flashcard options which can be updated and patched if any exploits are found. So thats another problem flashcard makers are having, if they d find an exploit, Nintendo can easily patch it in a new firmware update making it impossible for a flashcard to work indefinably. So you may have to open up the DSi and modify the hardware or install a modchip just to get a flashcard to work.

    I have contacted the AceKard team about what methods they used in their lab. There are basically two ways they went about this. It was either a hardware mod that requires opening the DSi and modifying the hardware and soldering or they used a save exploit to load the flashcard. Now the problem with the save exploit, is that they can easily be fixed by Nintendo and not only that, it would require you to go out and buy an actual game cartridge that had the exploit and use it every time you want to load the flashcard. So every time you want to use a flashcard, you would have to put in the real game, use the exploit and put in the flashcard.

    Now the problem with save exploits ona ctual game carts is that well, you need to own a DS Phat or Lite as well as a flashcard to perform them. You need a way to transfer the game saves to and from the actual game cart to perform a save exploit. So it sort of defeats the purpose because if you can perform a save exploit, you can already run home brew and game backups already.

    So right now its not looking to promising for DSi hacks.
     
  14. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Sucks that the R4 team is dead. lol
     
  15. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    My 2 cents:
    I think it is probably a modification of the DSi's motherboard. From the video you can see that there are no external devices used and I'm pretty sure that that would be the only other way the flash cart would work on the DSi. It says it was only doable in the 'lab' so it's not as simple as anything they could modify in the flash cart itself.
     
  16. Canonbeat234

    Member Canonbeat234 Redeemed Temper

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Japan
    If this is so true then why the hell did they have to post on youtube!? Youtube is the worst place to place any cryptic information about this! I do believe there's a way to over-ride boot up screen of the DSi. If you can somehow override the firmware of the DSi, make it boot up into a DS. The only features that will appear might the DS features itself, however trying to use any of DSi features can BRICK the handheld itself...
     
  17. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, they probably did a mod to the DSi.
    At least we know there is a team who is actually working on it. Also, judging by how they said they havn't found a way to access the SD slot, that gives me the impression they are trying.

    I am still using Ol' Reliable Phat, so I won't be upgrading, but great news. Go Acekard.
     
  18. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    props to the acekard team!
     
  19. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    great news, i hope the problem they are talking about will be fixed soon.
    my dsi is pretty useless now [​IMG]
     
  20. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool , now just to wait for all the people to flood in and demand it's released just like they do with everything else [​IMG].


    Would be interesting to see what they done though [​IMG] , if it is a hardware mod , I wonder what's making it not commercially viable , as if it's just a chip , there's plenty of people who have no problem messing with the internals of their consoles.
     

Share This Page