acekard loading speed?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by boogerlad, May 21, 2009.

May 21, 2009

acekard loading speed? by boogerlad at 3:28 AM (1,262 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. boogerlad
    OP

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Hello everyone. I've never got an acekard before, and it seems that everyone loves acekards. However, I do have one question.
    How is the loading time of roms? Does anyone have other flashcarts for a direct comparison of loading speed of roms? I'm wondering
    the difference between a legit r4, a dstt and an acekard is?

    Thanks everyone

    btw, would it be possible to run akaio on other flashcarts like dstt? Does softreset work in homebrew like the cyclo?
     
  2. Blythe31

    Member Blythe31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    hmm. Haven't had a side by side comparison of loading times with my cyclo, but it's not too bad. I think it mostly relies on your micro sd card like what class it is which in turn indicates how fast it's reading/writing speed is.

    Loading speed isn't bothersome to me whatsoever though, so I don't think it's too horribly bad. Also, I don't think you can run akaio on any other cards besides an r4? I'm not too sure though. There's a wiki stickied, which probably covers it.
     
  3. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Loading speed depends on your micro sd, not the flashcart. For me it takes anywhere from 0.5 sec to 3 sec depending on the game. The difference is that R4 and DSTT are both dead with no support or updates.
     
  4. boogerlad
    OP

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    i tried my r4 and dstt with the same microsd, and the r4 was faster in some games and the dstt was faster in other games.
     
  5. Blythe31

    Member Blythe31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    I think he was asking about a comparison of those cards with the acekard. [​IMG]
     
  6. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I find my Acekard to load games quicker than my official R4, both using the same Kingston 2GB (Japan) Micro SD card.

    Just get an Acekard and use the unofficial firmware, AKAIO for it. It's got loads of nice features, but is lacking Real Time Save, an in game menue with in game text viewing etc. If you want those sort of features, you want a CycloDS.

    Don't forget to read some of the GBAtemp reviews here first, before making your final decision on what card to get.
     
  7. boogerlad
    OP

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, my acekard came in today. Overall speed is faster than dstt, but softreset doesn't work. I turned it on in rom options and properties and system options, and it doesn't work with the normal key combo. I tried it on dstt and it worked fine. Anyone have any clues as to what i've been doing wrong?
     
  8. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    what loader are you using
    official for soft reset is now L R A B X Y
    for AKAIO is L R A B Down
     
  9. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
     
  10. El-ahrairah

    Member El-ahrairah GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my Acekard2i today and I have the say the loading times are noticeably longer (though not superlong) than my old CycloDS. It's a shame I have to retire my Cyclo, really. [​IMG]
     
  11. boogerlad
    OP

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    i'm an idiot. Thanks for the reminder guys. lrab+down. I am using akaio. I love this acekard. Getting more for my friends.
     
  12. boogerlad
    OP

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, in the ini file, there are some interesting options. In globalsettings.ini, there is the "slowmotion" option =0 or =1, which probably means on and off. I'm too scared to try it though. Is it a beta, hidden or some other function?
     
  13. DarkPacMan77

    Newcomer DarkPacMan77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Pacland
    Country:
    United States
    Today is my first day using my Acekard 2.1 in my NDS Lite. I'm using a 2gb PNY MicroSD and the biggest ROM I've tried loading is 128mb. The game loads in about 2 and a half seconds or so.

    I wouldn't expect any other flash cart to be too terrible. As one person said, loading times are mainly dependent on the memory card, so as long as you get a memory card with decent reading/ writing times you should be fine. Just make sure to get whatever flash cart has the features that you're wanting to use.

    -DarkPacMan77-
     
  14. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Its from an old pre akaio build. Doesn't do anything.
     
  15. boogerlad
    OP

    Member boogerlad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    darn. I was hoping for slow motion because it would be interesting to play like that just like the cyclo.
     

Share This Page